Whenever you hear about browser privacy pertaining to “what companies are tracking about you”, browser cookies always come up. Always.
Well, in Firefox it’s really easy to have cookies dumped – as in deleted – every time you close the browser: Options > Privacy (category button) > “I close Firefox” drop-down-menu option, OK.
That’s it. Yes, really.
You configure Firefox like that, and every browser cookie is dumped when you close the browser.
What inconveniences does this cause?
Certain site preferences won’t be saved, should you use any, and you may have to retype some certain information in certain fields on certain sites whenever you go to them on any launch of the browser.
The only real way to know how much inconvenience having cookies dumped up close of the browser each time is to enable it, re-launch Firefox and see how much inconvenience it causes you.
No, this does not affect saved password information, and as noted above, it will affect some form fields on certain sites, but not all.
You’ve heard over and over to “clear your cookies” for enhanced browser privacy. Firefox makes it easy to dump them automatically just by closing the browser. Now you know how to do it.
The PCMech.com weekly newsletter has been running strong for over 8 years. Sign up to get tech news, updates and exclusive content - right in your inbox. Also get (several) free gifts.