EXPOSED: Brand New Bank of America Phishing Attempt

Posted May 26, 2008 | by David Risley  

I got an email this morning which read:

Dear Member,

Please login to your Bank of America Account and visit the
Messag Center section in order to read the message.

To Login, please click the link below:

Bank of America Online Banking

© 2008 Bank of America Corporation. All rights reserved.

Yes, “Messag” is indeed mispelled. Classic phishing attempt. When I clicked the link for Bank of America, I went to MyHauBau.com. It looks like Bank of America, but the domain is obviously not right.

phishing

I did a WHOIS lookup on this idiot:

Admin Name……….. andrei buzdugan
Admin Address…….. 17461 Lyons Valley Road
Admin Address……..
Admin Address…….. Jamul
Admin Address…….. 91931
Admin Address…….. CA
Admin Address…….. UNITED STATES
Admin Email………. andr3_2004@yahoo.com

He also registered this domain today. He sure did get right to work trying to scam the public. Hey Andrei, want to see your house on PCMech?

Picture 8

Of course, there is a chance this guy is using a bogus address. I wanted to publish the phone number (and did for a minute), but then removed it just in case it was bogus.

Andrei, you’re an idiot.

Which Of These Traits Applies To YOUR Computing Life?...

2 Responses to “EXPOSED: Brand New Bank of America Phishing Attempt”

  1. Nathan says:

    Haha, I just got this email today. I didn’t even bother clicking on it, cuz of the dodgy URL, myhaubau. Strange how it was sent to me though. 1) I don’t even bank with BoA, and 2) I’m not even in the US lol…

    Nice try, Andrei. But you didn’t fool me.

  2. Drew says:

    I got it also and did the same thing as David. I’m w/ BoA so I called their fraud division and gave them the info :)

Leave a Reply