View Full Version : Any opinions on this site?
juppy
03-14-2007, 09:45 PM
Hi!
I just need to see if anyone knows anything about this website.
www.oem-gallery.com
My brother is looking to find an older/cheaper version of Corel Draw that he can use to edit and/or update drawings that he uses at work. He's not going to be using many of the features and that's why he can't justify spending $330 on the newest version of Corel Draw.....but it has to be that program because that's what they have to use at his job to create them in the first place. He was looking for something around Corel Draw 11 or 12, and this site has them ranging from $59 to $89, but I just wasn't sure about whether it's a trusted site or not. I had never heard of it and I didn't find much in their FAQ that made me think any better of them. And if this ISN'T a good site, does anybody know of a good site to pick up a cheaper version of this program? Perferrably under $100. Thanks. :)
pam123
03-14-2007, 10:48 PM
A Google for the site turned up this : http://forums.pcpitstop.com/index.php?showtopic=135396
and this : http://www.codecomments.com/archive388-2006-2-700990.html
Only a few other references to the site on Google turned up.
In order to show you the most relevant results, we have omitted some entries very similar to the 5 already displayed.
If you like, you can repeat the search with the omitted results included.
I"ll give them the benefit of the doubt and say that the cut-price Viagra store isn't their doing but at best that's a site with no track record.
Will one of the copies from these guys do for your brother ? http://www.softwareoutlet.com/Merchant2/merchant.mvc?
sgtspector
03-14-2007, 11:24 PM
Once in a while i still visit the traveling comouter show when it comes around looking for just such a bargain. I don't know if that's an option for you but I thought I'd mention it.
juppy
03-15-2007, 01:20 AM
Thanks for the quick responses! :)
sgtspector > I appreciate you bringing up that option but I don't think we ever get any of those traveling computer shows here. Once in a blue moon they'll have an audio/video/computer show in Oklahoma City but that's 100 miles from me. :D We're not a big enough city to rate a show like that (population, roughly 45,000). Thanks for the suggestion anyway though! :)
pam123 > Yeah, I did some Googling on it too and things like you came up with are about all I came up with when I tried it too. Most of 'em seemed to be not so favorable. I wasn't too thrilled with his idea of buying from them either because, for one, it says the software ships from Eastern Europe. To me, that sounds like they're trying to get around some sort of U.S. law to sell something illegal. I didn't care for the fact that it didn't have any of those "Hacker safe" or "Verisign" insignias like you see on legit sites either. Do you know that other site you linked at the last of your post is okay to buy from? If so, yeah, that'd probably be fine with him. I have to ask though, because frankly I've never heard of that site either. :D I'm just basically trying to keep him legal and not let him get screwed over by some scam site.
Any other opinions still welcome. :)
Eastern Europe? That's a danger flag right there. You are buying downloads or burned copies, even though it's old software that's piracy. He won't be legal.
Softwareoutlet.com is legitimate. Their stuff is in the original packages, it's all overstock/closeout/liquidation type stuff. Check out their FAQ's - I'm satisfied they are legit.
pam123
03-15-2007, 08:34 AM
I've bought from Softwareoutlet several times they're legit.
juppy
03-15-2007, 02:35 PM
Eastern Europe? That's a danger flag right there. You are buying downloads or burned copies, even though it's old software that's piracy. He won't be legal.That's kinda what I figured too, g. That was one of the main reasons I was skeptical about them.
Since you two think that other site is legit though, that's good enough for me. Softwareoutlet it is then. I'll pass their address on to him. Thanks for the info! :)
vBulletin® v3.7.0, Copyright ©2000-2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.