Moneygram | MPAA | MySpace Backgrounds | Loans | Bad Credit Loan
who is it [Archive] - PCMech Forums

PDA

View Full Version : who is it


Red Lion
09-23-2000, 05:12 PM
Greetings
You may have come accross this yourselves!
I have ZoneAlarm installed and it does its job of blocking net access to my PC very well, however, how do I find out who it is that is trying to access my PC?
how can i find out what the numerical IP address from the quote below means is it a company or just some hacker?
The firewall has blocked Internet access to your computer (IDENT) from 212.38.173.20 (TCP Port 34685).
1.Is there any s/w progs that you can recommend for finding out whos zooming who?
2.How does Pinging work within win98?



<font color="red"><b>Red_Lion</b></font>

glc
09-23-2000, 06:07 PM
I use a program called NetLab. What you want is under the DNS tag - it resolves an IP address to a name.

My IP address right now is 38.33.102.42. This resolves to ip42.chicago29.il.pub-ip.psi.net. This may be totally meaningless to you, but it does tell you that whatever it is, it's coming from psi.net. This happens to be the modem bank that I am dialed in to. My ISP uses psi.net, along with others, for its Net access.

NetLab is freeware and can be found on the major shareware sites.

Frequently Zone Alarm will resolve the IP address for you.

archie
09-23-2000, 09:19 PM
Quick search shows it's someone from Scotland ... there's got to be a better way.
http://www.arin.net/cgi-bin/whois.pl
http://www.ripe.net/cgi-bin/whois

glc
09-24-2000, 12:35 AM
Host name: ftp.iomart.com
IP address: 212.38.173.20
Alias(es): None

The Data in Network Solutions' WHOIS database is provided by Network
Solutions for information purposes, and to assist persons in obtaining
information about or related to a domain name registration record.
Network Solutions does not guarantee its accuracy. By submitting a
WHOIS query, you agree that you will use this Data only for lawful
purposes and that, under no circumstances will you use this Data to:
(1) allow, enable, or otherwise support the transmission of mass
unsolicited, commercial advertising or solicitations via e-mail
(spam); or (2) enable high volume, automated, electronic processes
that apply to Network Solutions (or its systems). Network Solutions
reserves the right to modify these terms at any time. By submitting
this query, you agree to abide by this policy.

Registrant:
angus macsween (IOMART4-DOM)
80 Berkeley St
Glasgow, uk G61 2RJ
UK

Domain Name: IOMART.COM

Administrative Contact:
Iomart Hostmaster (IH450-ORG) dns@IOMART.CO.UK
Iomart Ltd
80 Berkeley Street
Glasgow, G3 7DS
GB
+44 141 221 0173
Fax- +44 141 221 6620
Technical Contact, Zone Contact:
Moran, Paul (PM12742) paul@IOMART.COM
Iomart Ltd
80 Berkeley Street
Glasgow, G3 7DS
GB
+44 (0) 141 221 0173 (FAX) +44 (0) 141 221 6620
Billing Contact:
Accounts Department (AD8454-ORG) accounts@IOMART.COM
Iomart Ltd
80 Berkeley Street
Glasgow, G3 7DS
GB
+44 (0)141 221 0173
Fax- +44 (0)141 221 6620

Record last updated on 16-Nov-1999.
Record expires on 29-Oct-2000.
Record created on 29-Oct-1998.
Database last updated on 23-Sep-2000 19:47:30 EDT.

Domain servers in listed order:

NS.IOMART.CO.UK 212.38.173.11
NS2.IOMART.CO.UK 212.38.173.12

Jomama
09-25-2000, 11:04 PM
Nice job glc. But you left out mr. Macsweens blood type. LOL

glc
09-26-2000, 03:50 AM
Hehehehehe - dont blame me, blame Network Solutions!

reibow
09-26-2000, 05:54 AM
Hi Red Lion

Also have a look at this thread
http://206.161.202.65/forum/showthread.php?threadid=3740

reibow
10-05-2000, 05:02 PM
I have been searching for the Netlabs program mentioned by glc but have had no luck. But did come across another useful item which seems to do the same as Netlabs. Try IPlookup at this site http://www.toolsforselling.com/ or http://www.moochers.com

It is very interesting to see who is roaming the net unannounced.

glc
10-06-2000, 01:46 AM
http://www.adanil.com/NetLab/

reibow
10-07-2000, 03:43 AM
Thanks glc - downloaded and soon to be installed.