View Full Version : www.Oxfordpc.com
KidKai03
12-12-2003, 03:50 PM
Hello, I just wanted to know if anyone has any past experience with Oxfordpc? I personally have been looking at their site for about a month and I can't see anything wrong with them at all. They have a great seletion compared to other top of the line computer sites like, Voodoo, Alienware, and Falcon. They have a nice, clean layout as far as components and information goes. Everytime I email them about ANY questions I may have they always answer within an hour, EVERYTIME. To tell you the truth...their the best site i've seen so far and their very friendly. Oh, and their prices are quite competative. I highly recommend them although I haven't bought anything from them as of yet but, I just thought I'd let everyone know what I thought and if your interested take a look and see what they've got to offer. If you take a look at their site please come back and let me know what you think. Just to let you know...if they don't carry an item you can send a request for that item, and I thought that was neat.:)
Jester
12-12-2003, 04:21 PM
I could build there highend with better parts for under half the price
mbossman2
12-12-2003, 04:24 PM
they have 1 big strike against them: they don't list a physical address. I am always reluctant to deal with a company unless they list an actual address.
doctorgonzo
12-12-2003, 04:31 PM
According to whois, the domain is registered to a New Jersey company:
158 Oxford Avenue
Fair Haven, NJ 07704
US
732-747-0457 fax: 123 123 1234
I wouldn't necessarily trust it. Go with what's known, like newegg. If it ain't broke...
mbossman2
12-14-2003, 12:45 PM
Originally posted by doctorgonzo
According to whois, the domain is registered to a New Jersey company:
158 Oxford Avenue
Fair Haven, NJ 07704
US
732-747-0457 fax: 123 123 1234
I wouldn't necessarily trust it. Go with what's known, like newegg. If it ain't broke...
if they have nothing to hide, then why not list it on their website?
SonicVanguard
12-14-2003, 01:54 PM
And notice the fax number: 123-123-1234. And using reverse phone number lookup, the primary phone shows nothing as well.
Rather bogus if you ask me.
Dave.
Lots of domain holders use bogus phone numbers to avoid spam.
I believe that's a residential area, there won't be a storefront at that address. I looked it up on Streets and Trips, I'm familiar with that area having grown up about 5 miles from there, it looks to be away from any commercial area.
There is a phone listing for that address, last name matches but it's a different number - checked this at Yahoo People Search.
I'd bet that this is a kid building stuff out of his house and selling it over the Internet.
KidKai03
12-15-2003, 01:24 AM
Originally posted by glc
Lots of domain holders use bogus phone numbers to avoid spam.
I believe that's a residential area, there won't be a storefront at that address. I looked it up on Streets and Trips, I'm familiar with that area having grown up about 5 miles from there, it looks to be away from any commercial area.
There is a phone listing for that address, last name matches but it's a different number - checked this at Yahoo People Search.
I'd bet that this is a kid building stuff out of his house and selling it over the Internet.
That may be true cause out of the 20 or so emails I sent to him it was always the same guy no matter what email address I sent is to, technical...comments...customer service...etc. His name is James Noonan. Hmmm, maybe ya can try and email him and see if hes bogus or not. Someone could always give that business/company bureau(typo?) a call to see if the company/oxfordpc even exists, or if its legit.
I'm not saying that he's bogus - I'm saying that this is most likely a small home-operated business, not a traditional PC building business. Didn't Bill Gates start in a garage? The fact that he answers his emails promptly is good.
mairving
12-15-2003, 09:52 AM
Originally posted by glc
Lots of domain holders use bogus phone numbers to avoid spam.
Yeah and registars are starting to crack down on that. You can lose your domain name if you enter bogus information.
OxfordPC has a solid 10.0 rating from Reseller Ratings (http://www.resellerratings.com/seller2125.html) but there are very few reviews. The key to any company though is not how their site looks or if they have a physical address or not. It is how they deal with problems. That is the real unknown factor with them. Just as long as you use a credit card when ordering you are generally safe since you have a pretty good way to recover your money if a company is bogus.
KidKai03
12-15-2003, 03:54 PM
Hmmm...well, thanks for the information and if anyone happens to fall upon some new information reguarding Oxfordpc please keep me posted. =)
vBulletin® v3.7.0, Copyright ©2000-2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.