View Full Version : What the....
REdDragon
01-20-2004, 01:13 AM
I logged onto the web and i got freaked out when I wasn't taken to my homepage, but was directed to www.syspage.com. The page displayed supposly my IP address and pretended to know where i lived. What really freaked me out was that my CD drive opened by itself. Is this kind of advertisment legal? How do i set up my Firewall to block this crap. I'm using zonealarm pro.
Dswissmiss
01-20-2004, 01:30 AM
check for spyware using spybot or ad-aware. the cd opening thing is probably something you can get rid of in your task manager, but definately check for spyware.
Dswissmiss
scracker
01-26-2004, 09:33 PM
A good way I think to check whether your PC is infected is to
open the command task, type nestat -n. Make sure you don't turn on any services or programs requiring connection such as
web browsers, Kazaa, chat programs...Then, if you see there is a connection listed after you do nestat -n, you PC is probaby infected.
You can also try www.mcafee.com or www.trendmicro.com for a free online scan.
vBulletin® v3.7.0, Copyright ©2000-2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.