Mortgages | Per Insurance | Personal Loans | eBay | Debt Consolidation
Not sure wth this is [Archive] - PCMech Forums

PDA

View Full Version : Not sure wth this is


Ogredemir
04-01-2004, 09:24 PM
I was looking at my girlfriends profile on Aol Instant Messanger and it said >Click to View my Buddy Profile or something and so i thought she had put it in there. turns out it brought me to a blank web page. Now when i reboot my computer my AIM profile always says that now. I'm thinking its a virus. And now even when im not signed on to AIM (it never did this before) it tells me i have "Clicked on an AIM hyperlink that your client does not support. You may have to upgrade AIM. Click OK to go to the AIM upgrade web page" nothing happens no matter what you click. so i removed AIM and the thing still pops up. idk what else to do. I tried upgrading AIM but it says i cant because AIM is running, but its not running. If you dont have any ideas could you recommend me to a really good Anti-Virus software? i dont mind spending a little bit of money to protect this baby i built

Lobos
04-02-2004, 12:34 AM
hi Ogredemir

here are two good online scanners there both free

http://www.pandasoftware.com/activescan/

http://housecall.antivirus.com/housecall/start_corp.asp

hope theses help you

Lobos
04-02-2004, 12:38 AM
you could also save your buddy list and reinstall AIM again

Ogredemir
04-03-2004, 12:43 PM
yeah i tried that housecall thing and it found 2 infected files but they read "uncleanable" i also have already removed AIM and all its componenets from my comp. but it still keeps coming. Yesterday i didnt get the popup once all day. and today i didnt get it for like the first 3 hours on my computer. then it Popped up about once every minute again so here i am. Its not spywear, i think its adawear or something

Ogredemir
04-03-2004, 01:04 PM
I tried the pandasoftware link and OMG TY SO MUCH LOBOS!!! it disinfected the virus. i guess it was some spyware thing. ty lots :) :)