PDA

View Full Version : Prices for Real ?


redbaron_snoopy
04-30-2004, 07:27 AM
Does anyone have any opinion about this software eshop ?
The deals looks really good.

http://allofoem.biz/?radiotherapy

not important
04-30-2004, 08:31 AM
The prices look TOO good for some of the software, mainly the XP stuff. My question would be, do you receive the license key with the OS's.

Force Flow
04-30-2004, 09:44 AM
I dunno, I'd be leery. The adobe stuff is TOO good as well.

Confused
04-30-2004, 09:53 AM
I wouldn't trust that site with your credit card. Software is download only and gives no indication that you will be given a product key.
Chas
s

glc
04-30-2004, 10:47 AM
It's all pirated. Stay away. Legitimate software is not distributed in .iso or Winrar format.

Alfie
04-30-2004, 12:50 PM
The usual giveaway,is the site secured?
If you click on buy,you'll see it's not,wouldn't and couldn't trust it.
Regard it as a scam.

SamuraiWarrior
04-30-2004, 12:54 PM
I'm surprised Bill hasn't tried to shut it down.

doctorgonzo
04-30-2004, 01:05 PM
Originally posted by glc
It's all pirated. Stay away. Legitimate software is not distributed in .iso or Winrar format.

Bingo. I've never received legitimate software in this manner in RAR or ZIP form. Also, the website says that it can offer software so cheap because it does "not shell out on [sic] CD manufacturing." This is patently false; the cost of a CD adds next to nothing to the cost of software. They're just lying to trick people into thinking it's legitimate.

yellohut
04-30-2004, 01:21 PM
Considering they're selling longhorn on the homepage.. and longhorn isn't slated for release until 2006... I would stay far far away from them..
somethin' ain't right.

mairving
04-30-2004, 01:38 PM
Let's see the domain was registered on March 30, 2004 (a month ago) to a guy in Brazil. You download the product and it is very cheap. Traceroutes and ping requests seem to give different answers every time. The site also shows up on a bunch of spam lists. Hmm, I think that something is stinks here.

mairving
04-30-2004, 01:39 PM
More interesting reading:
Here (http://news.spamcop.net/pipermail/spamcop-list/2004-April/079082.html)

kram 2.0
04-30-2004, 03:00 PM
General Rule: If a software costs more than 70% off its retail price without a legitamate reason (ie. if it's an OEM, etc.), it's not legitamate.

kram

Hi Ho
04-30-2004, 07:51 PM
Well they can't spell "Adobe Premiere". Apperantly adobe now makes some sort of paint. :D I wouldn't trust them.

redbaron_snoopy
04-30-2004, 09:33 PM
Thanks for the advice. I'll warn my sis who got this through an email.