Go Back   PCMech Forums > Help & Discussion > Computer Hardware

Need Some Help? Type Your Keywords Here:

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 01-15-2001, 09:58 PM   #1
Banned
 
audiyoda's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2000
Location: East of Lake Michigan -- West of Lake Huron -- South of Lake Superior and North of civilization.
Posts: 2,219
Send a message via AIM to audiyoda Send a message via Yahoo to audiyoda
Post

I'm building a new T-bird system for a friend and looked for prices via my usual sources. While doing some browsing later in the day, I found a site by a company called STEP Thermodynamics. I can't believe their prices. Well below other sites by a long shot -- and their cooling systems look awesome. So I'm wondering if anyone has delt with this company before -- I'd hate to place an order and then have them turm out to be crooks.

-Craig

[Edited by audiyoda on 01-15-2001 at 11:01 PM]
audiyoda is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-15-2001, 10:35 PM   #2
Member (9 bit)
 
Join Date: Nov 1999
Posts: 507
Send a message via ICQ to Mattman Send a message via AIM to Mattman Send a message via Yahoo to Mattman
Tech guru's here rave about STEP. I'm sure they can tell you more because I've never delt with them personally. I found the best place to buy CPU/Mobo was http://www.mwave.com
Mattman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-16-2001, 08:15 AM   #3
The Gavel
 
LawyerRon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 1999
Location: Upland, CA
Posts: 6,311
On my last build, I bought everything from http://www.mwave.com on Matt's recommendation. Good prices and reasonable shipping too. I didn't notice until after I placed my order that they're only about 30 minutes from my house. I've never ordered from STEP but I've heard some negative things about them on this board and their ratings at resellerratings.com are not great.
__________________
"To speak ill of others is a dishonest way of praising ourselves"
LawyerRon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-16-2001, 11:05 AM   #4
Member (14 bit)
 
reboot's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 1999
Location: Kelowna, B.C., Canada
Posts: 9,138
Here's my opinion: http://206.161.202.65/forum/showthre...?threadid=8155
__________________
Black holes are where God divided by zero...
Cheers, Jim

Jims Modems
reboot is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-16-2001, 11:23 PM   #5
Banned
 
audiyoda's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2000
Location: East of Lake Michigan -- West of Lake Huron -- South of Lake Superior and North of civilization.
Posts: 2,219
Send a message via AIM to audiyoda Send a message via Yahoo to audiyoda
Well after much research, I'm pretty much convinced this is a good company to work with if you know what you are looking for. And I just can't get over their prices -- pc150 (CAS3/CAS2) 256Meg for $115.00???? Of course you have to buy a processor and cooling unit as well, but my word. The closest I can find to that is from upgradeplanet.com pc133-CAS2 Elite 256Meg for $149.00. (Pricescan.com) Not to mention their processor/cooling combo prices are darn close to processor only prices your find on pricescan.com. Their ASUS boards are also cheaper than any I've found. I find it somewhat unfortunate that these prices are contingent on the purchase of a processor with their cooling rig. But I can also see their marketing strategy at work -- I want a new processor so wh not get everything from them while I'm at it.

-Craig
audiyoda is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Still Need Help? Type Your Keywords Here:


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:34 AM.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2012, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
SEO by vBSEO 3.6.0 PL2