Go Back   PCMech Forums > General & Off Topic > General Discussion

Need Some Help? Type Your Keywords Here:

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 09-21-2005, 11:37 PM   #1
Member (10 bit)
 
Punked Out Comp's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: NJ
Posts: 855
The rich jerk.

I found this site:http://www.therichjerk.com/

I'm pretty skeptical, and I'm sure it doesnt work instantly, like he claims, but I am curious. So my question here is if I can trust it when he says he'll give you your money back after 45 days if you dont like it.

I'm not trying to advertise it, and I'm not looking for peoples opinions on whether or not it will work. I just want to know if I can trust the refund, because I AM curious.
Punked Out Comp is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-21-2005, 11:49 PM   #2
Wx geek
 
blue60007's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Indiana
Posts: 6,638
A bunch of malarky if you ask me. These are the commercials you see on TV where it says "Not typical results", similar to the lady that lost 150lbs on some nutradiet system. A waste of your time if you ask me. If you read the fine print they say there is no guarantee you'll do well.
__________________
"It is the way of man to make monsters and it is the nature of monsters to destroy their makers."
blue60007 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-22-2005, 01:41 AM   #3
Shiro Usagi
Premium Member
 
Cricket's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 1999
Location: Kaneohe, Hawaii
Posts: 34,002
He probably got rich from all the gullible people buying his ebook for $97.

Cricket
Cricket is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-22-2005, 07:35 AM   #4
Ride 'em Cowboy
 
EzyStvy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 1999
Location: Dallas, Tx
Posts: 9,018
Quote:
Originally Posted by Cricket
He probably got rich from all the gullible people buying his ebook for $97.

Cricket

DOUBLE DITTO
__________________
Stand Up 2 Cancer - SU2C
EzyStvy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-22-2005, 08:37 AM   #5
Come in Ray...
 
faulkner132's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 1,668
If it looks too good to be true, it most likely is.
faulkner132 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-22-2005, 08:49 AM   #6
Professional gadfly
 
doctorgonzo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Minneapolis, MN
Posts: 6,364
Send a message via MSN to doctorgonzo
Quote from the site, "I make several million dollars every year on the internet, doing almost nothing."

Hmm. If millions of dollars could be made doing nothing, everybody would be making millions of dollars.

TANSTAAFL!
doctorgonzo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-22-2005, 09:16 AM   #7
Member (8 bit)
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 162
I smell pyramid scheme. The only way to get rich is hard work. Want to get rich go to law school or med school. Don't trust some silly web site. I think Cricket hit the nail on the head; he makes money from people buying his junk. I really just looks like a joke to me.
Litespeed is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-22-2005, 09:33 AM   #8
Member (11 bit)
 
sdkfz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Shakopee MN
Posts: 1,293
FYI - TANSTAAFL! = There Ain't No Such Thing As A Free Lunch
__________________
Never Argue With An Idiot. They'll Drag You Down To Their Level And Then Beat You With Experience.
sdkfz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-22-2005, 11:17 AM   #9
Gremlin Overlord
 
Jaggannath's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Australia
Posts: 2,382
ha... fancy new packaging for the same old same old
Jaggannath is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-22-2005, 11:38 AM   #10
Techphile.
 
David M's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: San Francisco Bay
Posts: 5,746
It makes no sense for a person so (supposedly) wealthy to work so hard to write an ad like that which will make him no money. He has absolutely no motivation to do you a favor. Its a classic scam.

Most people are not guillable enuough to fall for it but then there are those few individuals with less than average intelligence which keep creeps like this guy in business.
__________________
Asus P8P67 WS Revolution | Intel 2600K @ 4.7 GHz | Win 7 Pro 64 |8 gigs Corsair 1600 | Two Diamond 6990's in Crossfire| Corsair AX1200 | Thermalright Silver Arrow | Western Digital Black 2TB 64 meg cache | Lian-Li PC-A71B | Logitec Z-5500 | Three Asus 26" VW266H monitors running under Eyefinity |
David M is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-22-2005, 12:44 PM   #11
Member (10 bit)
 
Punked Out Comp's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: NJ
Posts: 855
I just want to clarify that I AM pretty sure that its not going to be as easy as he says, if it even works at all. But I'm curious to see what it says.
Punked Out Comp is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-22-2005, 12:51 PM   #12
Professional gadfly
 
doctorgonzo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Minneapolis, MN
Posts: 6,364
Send a message via MSN to doctorgonzo
Based on this, it sounds like a collection of info on setting up affiliate sites, marketing, using ad programs, and selling on ebay.
doctorgonzo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-22-2005, 12:57 PM   #13
Member (10 bit)
 
Punked Out Comp's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: NJ
Posts: 855
Well as long as the info is accurate, thats good then, because thats what I'm interested in.
Punked Out Comp is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-22-2005, 01:21 PM   #14
Member (10 bit)
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Vancouver, BC, Canada
Posts: 976
I have not read his book and it is probably crap but it is possible to make money without hard work.
The problem is that by the time everybody knows about it, it's no longer possible.
Theoretically, he might be a really successful man who was approached by another guy with the intent of making money from marketing him.
I'm sure that if a book comes out "make millions in real estate - by donald trump" it will not be trump sitting around for a year typing. somebody will study him (or not) and write the book for him (and get rich).
I'm pretty sure that had I had the kahunas to open up a porn site when i first considered it, i'd be filthy rich now.
__________________
If you remind me of my dog... we'll probably get along.
peekaboo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-22-2005, 01:21 PM   #15
Techphile.
 
David M's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: San Francisco Bay
Posts: 5,746
When this jerk gets desperate he will show up in your town at the Airport Holiday Inn selling books and CD's. They use the Airport Holiday Inn so they can make a quick escape when the village idiots show up with pitchforks and shovels after realizing that they have been scammed for $995.00 each.

Last edited by David M; 09-22-2005 at 01:25 PM.
David M is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-22-2005, 01:47 PM   #16
Member (8 bit)
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 162
Quote:
Originally Posted by Punked Out Comp
Well as long as the info is accurate, thats good then, because thats what I'm interested in.

I think that is what people are trying to say. The info is not accurate or correct for that matter. This is not some thing new in the world. Get rich schemes have been around for years. Look up Amway you will learn alot about working for nothing, but making tons.
Litespeed is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-22-2005, 02:38 PM   #17
Member (10 bit)
 
Punked Out Comp's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: NJ
Posts: 855
I just got the e-book (for free, so you I dont need anyone telling me I wasted money. I'm also not going to say who gave it to me, because if he wanted a bunch of people asking him for it, he would have told me he'd give it to me in this thread, rather than private message), and so far it seems like it has good info. What he's saying does make sense, although it doesnt sound like it will make me a billion dollars overnight, or whatever he said, which is exactly what I didnt expect it to do. Its not total BS though, it is worth reading, so all of you who said its a total scam are incorrect.
Punked Out Comp is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Still Need Help? Type Your Keywords Here:


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:07 PM.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.6
Copyright ©2000 - 2012, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
SEO by vBSEO 3.6.0