Go Back   PCMech Forums > General & Off Topic > General Discussion

Need Some Help? Type Your Keywords Here:

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 11-05-2005, 10:47 AM   #1
Member (9 bit)
 
pc_noob's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: FL
Posts: 357
eBay scam

I just received the following email with high priority;


Quote:
eBay Verification Request - ID CODE: 00915731

It has come to our attention that your eBay billing information are out of date. This require you to update billing information as soon as possible. This billing update is also a new eBay security statement which goes according to the established norms on the User Agreement to reduce the instance of fraud on our website.

Please update your records on or before November 20, 2005. A failure to update your records may result on a suspension of your account.

To update your eBay records click on the following link:
http://signin.ebay.com/aw-cgi/eBayIS...n&ssPageName=h

If, after reviewing your account information, you seek further clarification regarding your account access, please contact eBay by visiting the Help Center and clicking "Contact Us". This new security statement will helps us continue to offer eBay as a secure and cost-effective service. We appreciate your cooperation and assistance.

Sincerely,
The eBay Team
but the link takes me to the following page;
http://www.footballnovascotia.ca/modules/eBay/


This is a scam right?
pc_noob is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-05-2005, 10:50 AM   #2
Shiro Usagi
Premium Member
 
Cricket's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 1999
Location: Kaneohe, Hawaii
Posts: 34,002
Yes, it's a scam.

Cricket
Cricket is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-05-2005, 10:54 AM   #3
Techphile.
 
David M's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: San Francisco Bay
Posts: 6,546
Don't even click on the link to respond. It confirms your email address is valid and the site cold have spyware, virus etc.
__________________
Asus P8P67 WS Revolution | Intel 2600K @ 4.7 GHz | Win 7 Pro 64 |8 gigs Corsair 1600 | Two Diamond 6990's in Crossfire| Corsair AX1200 | Thermalright Silver Arrow | Western Digital Black 2TB 64 meg cache | Lian-Li PC-A71B | Logitec Z-5500 | Three Asus 26" VW266H monitors running under Eyefinity |
David M is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-05-2005, 10:57 AM   #4
Member (9 bit)
 
pc_noob's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: FL
Posts: 357
I already have..
pc_noob is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-05-2005, 11:38 AM   #5
Staff
Premium Member
 
mairving's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 1999
Location: Arlington, TN
Posts: 5,538
A tip is never to login to anything from a link that was sent to you in an email. It's pretty easy to make the link look like it is from Ebay. I get about 10-20 of these for various email accounts at work along with the Paypal scams.
__________________

Want to Make $$$$ with your Computer? No Risk! Simply press shift-4 four times in a row
mairving is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-05-2005, 12:29 PM   #6
Wx geek
 
blue60007's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Indiana
Posts: 6,638
Good thing you asked first. eBay'll never ask for your account info in that fasion, if for whatever reason they needed it again , you'd have to go their site and fill it in there.
__________________
"It is the way of man to make monsters and it is the nature of monsters to destroy their makers."
blue60007 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-05-2005, 05:24 PM   #7
Member (10 bit)
 
Punked Out Comp's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: NJ
Posts: 855
Quote:
This billing update is also a new eBay security statement which goes according to the established norms on the User Agreement to reduce the instance of fraud on our website.
How ironic

This thing is fraught with bad spelling and grammar.
Punked Out Comp is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-05-2005, 06:55 PM   #8
Member (10 bit)
 
Marke522's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Kansas USA
Posts: 879
Send a message via AIM to Marke522 Send a message via MSN to Marke522 Send a message via Yahoo to Marke522
You might want to change your password and maybe even your user id if you did anything on that other site.

That happened to me once a few years ago, I clicked and typed in all they asked for to "update" my account. Then a few months later someone tried to spend $999.00 from my PayPal account. I was in front of the computer when it happened so I got ahold of them and stopped it, but it was a pretty scary 3 days until the money was back in my account.

The detectives wouldn't investigate anything mainly because it was only attempted theft, and also because other people have lost 10's of thousands of dollars.

It's called phishing, the criminals throw out a thousand emails with bait, and wait to see if anyone bites.
__________________
ASUS P5PE-VM Mainboard; Intel Core2Duo E6400@2.13 GHz; 2 x 1 GB GSkill DDR 3200
ASUS CD; SONY CD-RW; SONY DVD-ROM; SONY DVD-RW
250 GB SATA WD Caviar; 2 x 320 GB Seagate Barracuda 7200.10
SAPPHIRE Radeon HD 3850 AGP; Enermax Noisetaker 485 watt;
Creative SB Live!; 5.1 Logitech X-530's; Windows XP Home SP 3

My Blog. Feel free to comment.
Marke522 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-05-2005, 08:50 PM   #9
Member (12 bit)
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 2,509
Take a look at the full headers on that e-mail. Judging by the poor grammar and syntax, it's probably from another country. Here is a page telling you how to report it to the feds. And if you hit home on that page you can find more info about how to recognize phishing scams.

Last edited by jayb1234; 11-05-2005 at 09:00 PM.
jayb1234 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Still Need Help? Type Your Keywords Here:


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:17 AM.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2013, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
SEO by vBSEO 3.6.1