Go Back   PCMech Forums > General & Off Topic > General Discussion

Need Some Help? Type Your Keywords Here:

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 01-18-2006, 08:06 AM   #1
Member (10 bit)
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Virginia
Posts: 985
Is this real or a scam?

I recently received an e-mail from PCMech with an offer to buy a packet of CD's on building and repairing your own computer with a special discount for PCMech subscribers. It looks legit, but when I came here to find more information, I can't find anything mentioning this offer. When I clicked on the link provided it took me to some site I never heard of before. The bottom of the e-mail has my subscriber name from PCMech with a link bringing here if I want to check on my account.

Is this offer coming from PCMech?
__________________
AMD AthlonXP 2500+ Barton/Soltek SL-75FRN-RL/1024Mb DDR333 Kingston Ram/WD 120gig 8mb cache HD/Lite-On 52x32x52 CD-R-R/W/ATAPI 16x DVD/Sony 3.5 Floppy/Antec Solutions Case W/ 350W Antec PSU
Karnevil9 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-18-2006, 08:46 AM   #2
glc
Forum Administrator
Staff
Premium Member
 
glc's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2000
Location: Joplin MO
Posts: 41,189
Let me get Dris involved.
glc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-18-2006, 08:54 AM   #3
PCMech Founder
Staff
 
drisley's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 1999
Location: Tampa, FL
Posts: 1,978
Send a message via ICQ to drisley
It is coming from PCMech, but it is not our product. The product's creator worked with us to announce the product to our mailing list. As usual, the list remained in-house and we did the sending ourselves.

We do these types of mailings every so often for promotional purposes.
drisley is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-18-2006, 03:38 PM   #4
Member (10 bit)
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Virginia
Posts: 985
OK, Thanks. The bottom of the page giving my information with the link to PCMech made me think it was probably on the level. There was stil enough questions in my mind though that told me I would be better served checking it out. I get very convincing e-mails from scammers that go as far as copying the home page of a site like e-bay and citibanl for example, so when you click the link it even looks like them. You can't be too careful these days.
Has anyone used this product in order to review it?
Karnevil9 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-19-2006, 01:25 PM   #5
Security Dude
 
kstatefan40's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Overland Park, KS
Posts: 1,001
Send a message via AIM to kstatefan40 Send a message via MSN to kstatefan40 Send a message via Yahoo to kstatefan40 Send a message via Skype™ to kstatefan40
Which product?

It is always better to be safe than sorry
__________________

Tyler A. Thompson
Small Business Networking Services Specialist
tyler@derbydigital.com
kstatefan40 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-19-2006, 03:54 PM   #6
Member (10 bit)
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Virginia
Posts: 985
Whoooops. Sorry. I guess I should post the link http://www.ccnow.com/cgi-local/sc_ca...26508541779801.
Karnevil9 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Still Need Help? Type Your Keywords Here:


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:22 PM.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2013, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
SEO by vBSEO 3.6.1