Go Back   PCMech Forums > General & Off Topic > General Discussion

Need Some Help? Type Your Keywords Here:

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 11-10-2006, 09:50 AM   #1
Member (6 bit)
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 46
Free stuff website. Is this Legit?

http://www.myfreethings.org/


My uncle told me this works but i dont know about it because he might just be trying to refer me to it.

If anyone has experience with this site please tell me.
bigjmaster14 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-10-2006, 10:22 AM   #2
Member (12 bit)
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 2,509
Since they want you to pay to join, it is almost certainly a scam.
jayb1234 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-10-2006, 11:06 AM   #3
Techphile.
 
David M's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: San Francisco Bay
Posts: 5,746
Nothing is free in this world except for the air we breathe. Nobody is going to give away worthwhile stuff for free...they will want something from you....whether it is money, personal information, your time etc.

"In fact - if our system doesn't work for you, we will happily refund your money and apologize for wasting your time." By definition, this is not free.

So they have already lied once...are you going to trust them any further?
__________________
Asus P8P67 WS Revolution | Intel 2600K @ 4.7 GHz | Win 7 Pro 64 |8 gigs Corsair 1600 | Two Diamond 6990's in Crossfire| Corsair AX1200 | Thermalright Silver Arrow | Western Digital Black 2TB 64 meg cache | Lian-Li PC-A71B | Logitec Z-5500 | Three Asus 26" VW266H monitors running under Eyefinity |
David M is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-10-2006, 11:13 AM   #4
Red-eyed Moderator
Staff
Premium Member
 
HAL9000's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 1999
Location: Regina, Saskatchewan, Canada
Posts: 17,525
I wouldn't trust it one bit... chances are you will subscribe and then get links to those crap things you see all the time... free LCD TV, free Ipod... ya... you just have to accept a billion offers before you will get your "free" stuff.

I often wonder if this is how we get people scammed on their credit cards. They often have these weird sounding internet transactions on their cards monthly for about $15-$20.. they call asking what it is... and when we look up the codes on it... the only info we have is direct marketing/marketing not elsewhere classified. ,,, ya.. that tells me a lot.
__________________
-At Ford, quality is job #1, job #2 is making them explode. ~Norm MacDonald, SNL News

-Switching to Glide..Balancing in my head..inside of me...
taking the glide path instead.
HAL9000 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-10-2006, 11:52 AM   #5
Staff
Premium Member
 
mairving's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 1999
Location: Arlington, TN
Posts: 5,538
They have been online only 2 months. I suspect that they will take your money, give you some kind of list with free junk on it, then delay refunds until they rake in enough suckers. At which time they close down the site and reopen it under a new name for the next batch of suckers.
__________________

Want to Make $$$$ with your Computer? No Risk! Simply press shift-4 four times in a row
mairving is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-10-2006, 11:54 AM   #6
Staff
Premium Member
 
mairving's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 1999
Location: Arlington, TN
Posts: 5,538
Quote:
Originally Posted by jayb1234
Since they want you to pay to join, it is almost certainly a scam.
Plus if you ask 'is this a scam?', it almost always is.
mairving is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-10-2006, 01:43 PM   #7
Member (10 bit)
 
Kareeser's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Toronto, Canada
Posts: 810
You say your uncle referred you to it?

The most likely, after you pay, you'll be allowed to pick out your "free" item. Once there, all you have to do is refer 5 friends to the same website to qualify.

Who knows what hoops you'll have to jump through after that!
Kareeser is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Still Need Help? Type Your Keywords Here:


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Suggestions on what you can do to secure/clean your PC snooker Networking & Online Security 0 06-20-2004 07:03 PM
Free Website Content dog8food Internet, Web Applications, & The Cloud 1 06-01-2004 09:44 AM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:44 AM.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.6
Copyright ©2000 - 2012, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
SEO by vBSEO 3.6.0