|
|||||||
![]() |
|
|
LinkBack | Thread Tools | Search this Thread | Rate Thread | Display Modes |
|
|
#1 |
|
Member (7 bit)
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 107
|
Magna cum laude?
Got an "invite" to this "Society" in the mail today. I was "invited to apply for honor society membership" and can fill out my application online, etc, etc. It has the stamp and looks official, but I just dunno if this is a scam or if I should really consider doing this. Application is free, but if you are accepted there's a one-time $85 fee. I know what/who they are, but am just leary of this method of enrollment.
The site given is magna-cum-laude.org. Anyone have experience with this? I would suspect the school would notify me before the society itself.
|
|
|
|
|
|
#2 |
|
Member (11 bit)
|
It appears to me to be a legit site although I can't be certain that is where that email came from. The application not only does not ask for upfront payment or particularly personal information and it does not seem to request any financial information. If they do don't continue. If you do pay use a postal money order to pay the $85 if you are inclined to join.
__________________
Asus P5ND2-SLi-Deluxe Mobo, Intel 3.0ghz P4 w/ht, 2 GB CORSAIR 667 DDR2, 1 GB Ultra DDR2 533 mhz PC4200 ram, BFGTech Nvidia 6600 GT OC SLi video card, WD 4000KS OEM SATA II HDD, Seagate 320gb SATA II HDD 7200rpm, WD 320 gb SATA II HDD, Creative Soundblaster Audigy Platinum, Sony DRU 720 DVD-RW, LG GCE8240B CD-RW, Maddog Multimedia 500w modular PSU & WinXP Pro SP2, Samsung BF960 19" LCD. |
|
|
|
|
|
#3 |
|
Staff
Premium Member
Join Date: Jul 1999
Location: Arlington, TN
Posts: 5,538
|
I would say scam rather than legit. The site was only registered back in April of 07. The same IP address resolves to about 1.6 million different domain names, a sure sign of a scammer. You might check out some of the winning domain names that they have here.
__________________
Want to Make $$$$ with your Computer? No Risk! Simply press shift-4 four times in a row |
|
|
|
|
|
#4 |
|
Member (11 bit)
|
Wow! Good thing you checked it mairving. On second thought...
|
|
|
|
|
|
#5 |
|
Member (7 bit)
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 107
|
Glad I posted here.
I actually got this in the mail, not through e-mail, FWIW. |
|
|
|
|
|
#6 |
|
Member (12 bit)
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Easthampton, Massachusetts
Posts: 2,633
|
I dont think you get invited to "Magna Cum Laude", as Magna Cum Laude is given to graduating college students who are members of an Honors program and maintain a certain GPA upon graduation.
|
|
|
|
|
|
#7 |
|
Member (10 bit)
|
Agreed with the rest, as this just sounds strange. As a college student I have heard of slightly obscure honors fraternities/sororities that I never knew about before, but the cum-laude honors are just a way of showing a student graduating with varying levels of distinction, so it's a school based thing, so your school would notify you.
|
|
|
|
![]() |
| Bookmarks |
| Thread Tools | Search this Thread |
| Display Modes | Rate This Thread |
|
|
Similar Threads
|
||||
| Thread | Thread Starter | Forum | Replies | Last Post |
| Magna PSU's | ror_b211 | Computer Hardware | 9 | 07-25-2005 08:10 AM |
| Recorded MP3 Glitches on the VCD cum MP3 player? | The YongGrand | Software Discussion & Support | 0 | 09-25-2003 03:27 AM |