Go Back   PCMech Forums > General & Off Topic > General Discussion

Need Some Help? Type Your Keywords Here:

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 11-07-2008, 11:01 AM   #1
Member (6 bit)
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Posts: 63
Is this a real Windows Live Hotmail message

I received this email today. Is it real?



Windows Live !!! Verify Your Account Now To Avoid It Closed (VX2G99AAJ)‏
From: Window Live Team (vickie7087@hotmail.com)
Sent: Fri 11/07/08 9:31 AM
To: vickie7087*hotmail.com



Dear Account User

This Email is from Hotmail Customer Care and we are sending it to every Hotmail Email User Accounts Owner for safety. we are having congestions due to the anonymous registration of Hotmail accounts so we are shutting down some Hotmail accounts and your account was among those to be deleted. We are sending this email to you so that you can verify and let us know if you still want to use this account. If you are still interested please confirm your account by filling the space below.Your User name, password, date of birth and your country information would be needed to verify your account.

Due to the congestion in all Hotmail users and removal of all unused Hotmail Accounts, Hotmail would be shutting down all unused Accounts, You will have to confirm your E-mail by filling out your Login Information below after clicking the reply button, or your account will be suspended within 24 hours for security reasons.

* Username: ..............................
* Password: ................................
* Date of Birth: ............................
* Country Or Territory: ................

After following the instructions in the sheet, your account will not be interrupted and will continue as normal. Thanks for your attention to this request. We apologize for any inconveniences.

Warning!!! Account owner that refuses to update his/her account after two weeks of receiving this warning will lose his or her account permanently.

Sincerely,
The Windows Live Hotmail Team

Last edited by rjfvillarosa; 11-07-2008 at 11:51 AM.
migoblu is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-07-2008, 11:24 AM   #2
I like me
 
shadowpr's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Tejas
Posts: 7,332
I would say no.

They shouldn't have to ask for username and password.
__________________
It's coming....just you wait.
shadowpr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-07-2008, 11:54 AM   #3
Staff
Premium Member
 
rjfvillarosa's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Cardiff, Wales. UK
Posts: 5,912
That looks like a very poor attempt to "phish" for your login details.
Hotmail is never going to ask you for your username and password as they already know it, also any email from Hotmail would be addressed to you personaly not "dear user".

I edited your post to break the email link, it's not a good idea to broadcast your email address on a public forum it is likely to be picked up by spam bots.
__________________
Niwa no niwa ni wa, niwa no niwatori wa niwaka ni wani o tabeta.
rjfvillarosa is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-07-2008, 11:57 AM   #4
Member (6 bit)
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Posts: 63
That's what I thought, too...

but I wanted to be sure. I didn't think if it came from Windows Live that they would first spell it Window live and have an email address as: vickie7087*hotmail.com. Image a Hotmail account holder running a scam to obtain usernames and passwords. The audacity of it all.

John

Last edited by rjfvillarosa; 11-07-2008 at 12:29 PM.
migoblu is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-07-2008, 12:02 PM   #5
Member (6 bit)
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Posts: 63
rjfvillarosa,

thanks for breaking my email link. When I posted the message I didn't even think about that. Thanks again.
migoblu is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-07-2008, 12:29 PM   #6
Staff
Premium Member
 
rjfvillarosa's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Cardiff, Wales. UK
Posts: 5,912
Quote:
Originally Posted by migoblu View Post
thanks for breaking my email link. When I posted the message I didn't even think about that. Thanks again.
You did it again............
rjfvillarosa is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-07-2008, 12:38 PM   #7
Member (9 bit)
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: SC
Posts: 268
Send a message via AIM to MrDravenX Send a message via MSN to MrDravenX Send a message via Yahoo to MrDravenX
I don't think I've got an email like this before but I don't even open any of the ones that come from individuals that I do not know.
MrDravenX is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-07-2008, 04:57 PM   #8
Barefoot on the Moon!
Staff
Premium Member
 
Force Flow's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Northeastern USA
Posts: 13,285
Phishing scam.

Let me say this so everyone sees it: DO NOT SEND USERNAMES/PASSWORDS TO ANYONE

Legitimate sources WILL NOT ASK for them.


If you have sent your username/password to someone asking for it CHANGE IT IMMEDIATELY. If you have been locked out already, get the password reset.


Thank you, and that is all for this week's public service announcement
__________________
There are two secrets to staying young, being happy, and achieving success. You have to laugh and find humor every day, and you have to have a dream.
Force Flow is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-07-2008, 05:00 PM   #9
Tanker Yanker
Premium Member
 
doubledragon5's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Lewisville TX
Posts: 2,877
Its a no brainer, if someone ask for your SS number or checking number over the phone would you give it away?
__________________


MB: DFI Lanparty UT-NF4 SLI-D/Processor AMD Athlon 64x2 Toledo/video Card:XFX 9800GTX+/Audio:Sound Blaster Audigy 4/Ram:Corsair XMS Extreme 2x1Gig PC3200/HD:2x150GBWestern Digital Raptors/Monitor:View Sonic VX 922/Keyboard Mouse:Logitech Cordless Wave/Speakers: Logitech G51/Printer/Fax/Scanner:Brother MFC-685CW
doubledragon5 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-07-2008, 06:13 PM   #10
Member (9 bit)
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: SC
Posts: 268
Send a message via AIM to MrDravenX Send a message via MSN to MrDravenX Send a message via Yahoo to MrDravenX
All of this should be common sense but at my last base the computer guys would send out a mass bogus email with links or something along those lines asking for personal data. Sure enough their were a few individuals who clicked on the links.

If you don't know just just ask someone, like migoblu is doing. Better safe than sorry.
MrDravenX is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Still Need Help? Type Your Keywords Here:


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:58 PM.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.6
Copyright ©2000 - 2012, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
SEO by vBSEO 3.6.0