Go Back   PCMech Forums > General & Off Topic > General Discussion

Need Some Help? Type Your Keywords Here:

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 02-28-2002, 05:22 PM   #1
Member (9 bit)
 
pstj's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Posts: 440
Is that legal?

Hi!

I'm using a small utility called FreshDiagnose. That's not really important, but anyway. I had to register it (for free), and in the email that I received from FD with the registration code, there is link saying "You want free DVD movies? Click Here!" Curious, I click on the link, and it brings me to the following website (where you can learn how to find sites where you can download divx...)

http://www.dvd-divx-tutor.com/

I was wondering if that "tutorial" was legal... not that I'm interested (I wouldn't trust that "tutorial"), but it's just that I find it weird that downloading movies like that can be free (it is probably NOT free nor legal). So, if downloading movies is illegal, how could the "tutorial" promoting it be legal???

I'm confused...

pstj

Last edited by pstj; 02-28-2002 at 05:49 PM.
pstj is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-28-2002, 05:46 PM   #2
Premium Member
 
Statica's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 1999
Posts: 9,231
Like everything, this is based on the assumption that the knowledge will not be misused. For all purposes of argumentation, they could claim that the knowledge they provide is to enable you to use the information to make a backup of your DVD movies that you own! They could also claim that the fee you pay for being able to download Divx movies is to cover the cost of license of the material.

Yes we know what the underlying theme to the whole exercise is, but can it be directly proven that they are doing anything beyond the normal loopholes of the law?
Statica is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-28-2002, 06:26 PM   #3
Member (11 bit)
 
RenegadeKing's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Massachusetts
Posts: 1,487
Yes, the tutorial is legal as they can claim that it is so you can download movies that you already own for backups. Also because they are not directly supplying the movies. And yes, you can find full movies for free. Just search for one on Morpheus/Kazzaa. Chances are you will find it.

RenegadeKing
__________________
"When the only tool you have is a hammer, every problem starts to look like a nail."
RenegadeKing is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-28-2002, 06:34 PM   #4
Member (11 bit)
 
RenegadeKing's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Massachusetts
Posts: 1,487
I just took a look at the site, and you're right. It does sound like a bunch of BS, and for $30! These people are ridiculous. They claim information should be free (I agree with that, but they warp it to mean movies, software, etc), yet they try to sell you their information to teach you how to get free "information". Jeezus, gimme a break!

edit:

I just had to add this:
"TODAYS SPECIAL!!! The next 100 People to order get the IRC Advanced Tutorial FREE!!! ($29.99 value!) Order NOW!!!

In fact, you will also receive any software updates FREE for life.
All for the special introductory rate of $19.99!
(retail $29.99)."

Soo... is it free, $19.99, or $29.99???

RenegadeKing

Last edited by RenegadeKing; 02-28-2002 at 06:43 PM.
RenegadeKing is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Still Need Help? Type Your Keywords Here:


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:25 AM.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2012, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
SEO by vBSEO 3.6.0 PL2