Go Back   PCMech Forums > General & Off Topic > General Discussion

Need Some Help? Type Your Keywords Here:

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 05-07-2002, 12:24 AM   #1
Member (7 bit)
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Cumberland, MD
Posts: 114
Will KazaA hurt my computer?

Ok guys heres the skinny. i want a program to download mp3's and i heard kazaa is bundled with alot of spyware thats almost impossible to delete. Is kazaa safe to install on my computer? Im worried that itll mess something up and i dont want that to happen. How big is the risk factor? Also if my sister has kazaa on her computer aleady, will kazaa run properly and not install the spyware if i just put the kazaa.exe(the actual p2p program) on a cd and copy it to my computer? Sorry for the messy post but im tired hehe . Thanks as always guys
Lehman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-07-2002, 12:30 AM   #2
Member (13 bit)
 
DrZaius's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2000
Location: Fullerton, CA
Posts: 7,030
Just install Kazaa Lite, it's Kazaa only minus the spyware.

http://www.kazaalite.tk/
DrZaius is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-07-2002, 12:31 AM   #3
Moderator
 
dan3223's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 1999
Location: Boston
Posts: 1,225
Send a message via AIM to dan3223
I have Kazaa on my home rig, but I don't use that program very much. I prefer www.winmx.com works a lot better for me anyway.............
dan3223 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-07-2002, 08:31 AM   #4
Banned
 
audiyoda's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2000
Location: East of Lake Michigan -- West of Lake Huron -- South of Lake Superior and North of civilization.
Posts: 2,219
Send a message via AIM to audiyoda Send a message via Yahoo to audiyoda
I'll second Dan, WinMX is a better program. Anyway -- Kazaa downloads are notorious for having virii up one side and down the other.

-Craig
audiyoda is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-07-2002, 02:05 PM   #5
Member (9 bit)
 
Penguin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Posts: 459
Thumbs up

I will give another thumbs up for winmx. There is no spyware attached to this one. I run adware and whenever I download music from winmx, I get no spyware detected on my computer.
__________________
Enlight 7237 ATX 300W Power Supply | Gigabyte GA7DX DDR w/ Sound | AMD T-Bird 1.4 GHz & 266 FSB | Thermaltake DUO462-7 Socket A CPU fan | 256MB DDR PC2100 | 40 Gig WesternDigital 7200 RPM HD | TEAC Floppy | TDK veloCD 24x10x40 CD-RW | GeForce2 mx400 | XP
Penguin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-07-2002, 09:18 PM   #6
Member (12 bit)
 
RayH's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 1999
Location: San Francisco
Posts: 2,437
WinMx!
RayH is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-08-2002, 05:44 PM   #7
Member (11 bit)
 
whr2206's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: Roanoke,VA
Posts: 1,311
Send a message via AIM to whr2206 Send a message via MSN to whr2206 Send a message via Yahoo to whr2206
yeah I've used WinMx.the FIRST download I did wiht KazaA was a virus... well I deleted it after that....
whr2206 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-10-2002, 09:52 PM   #8
The Preacher Man
Premium Member
 
SARGE's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2000
Location: Dallas
Posts: 4,828
http://www.cnn.com/2002/TECH/interne...idg/index.html
__________________
"Don't be so open-minded that your brains fall out."
SARGE is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-11-2002, 12:33 AM   #9
Member (11 bit)
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: british columbia canada
Posts: 1,361
hello
ive been looking for an alternative to kazza i downloaded winmx looks good.i was reading the article and it said something about b3d projector.i noticed in my add remove programs b3d projector was there do i need to remove this.
thanks
newme is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-11-2002, 01:00 PM   #10
glc
Forum Administrator
Staff
Premium Member
 
glc's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2000
Location: Joplin MO
Posts: 37,742
http://www.wilderssecurity.com/B3DKiller.html
glc is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 05-11-2002, 01:17 PM   #11
Member (7 bit)
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Ipswich, UK
Posts: 70
I use KaZaA, but I have done the little trick found on this website - http://www.geocities.com/little_kingston77/ - to remove all spyware off it, and also disable the funtion that will not let you download high bitrates.
themagicwalrus is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-11-2002, 11:08 PM   #12
Member (10 bit)
 
Sauron's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: West Virginia, USA
Posts: 695
Send a message via MSN to Sauron Send a message via Yahoo to Sauron
AudioGalaxy!
Sauron is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Still Need Help? Type Your Keywords Here:


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:44 PM.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2012, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
SEO by vBSEO 3.6.0 PL2