Go Back   PCMech Forums > General & Off Topic > General Discussion

Need Some Help? Type Your Keywords Here:

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 12-12-2003, 03:50 PM   #1
Member (6 bit)
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Brooklyn Center, MN
Posts: 52
www.Oxfordpc.com

Hello, I just wanted to know if anyone has any past experience with Oxfordpc? I personally have been looking at their site for about a month and I can't see anything wrong with them at all. They have a great seletion compared to other top of the line computer sites like, Voodoo, Alienware, and Falcon. They have a nice, clean layout as far as components and information goes. Everytime I email them about ANY questions I may have they always answer within an hour, EVERYTIME. To tell you the truth...their the best site i've seen so far and their very friendly. Oh, and their prices are quite competative. I highly recommend them although I haven't bought anything from them as of yet but, I just thought I'd let everyone know what I thought and if your interested take a look and see what they've got to offer. If you take a look at their site please come back and let me know what you think. Just to let you know...if they don't carry an item you can send a request for that item, and I thought that was neat.

Last edited by KidKai03; 12-12-2003 at 03:54 PM.
KidKai03 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-12-2003, 04:21 PM   #2
Member (11 bit)
 
Jester's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Chicago, IL
Posts: 1,033
Send a message via AIM to Jester Send a message via MSN to Jester
I could build there highend with better parts for under half the price
Jester is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-12-2003, 04:24 PM   #3
I am, in reality, a moose
Staff
Premium Member
 
mbossman2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Location: RTP, NC
Posts: 2,439
they have 1 big strike against them: they don't list a physical address. I am always reluctant to deal with a company unless they list an actual address.
mbossman2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-12-2003, 04:31 PM   #4
Professional gadfly
 
doctorgonzo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Minneapolis, MN
Posts: 6,364
Send a message via MSN to doctorgonzo
According to whois, the domain is registered to a New Jersey company:

158 Oxford Avenue
Fair Haven, NJ 07704
US
732-747-0457 fax: 123 123 1234

I wouldn't necessarily trust it. Go with what's known, like newegg. If it ain't broke...
doctorgonzo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-14-2003, 12:45 PM   #5
I am, in reality, a moose
Staff
Premium Member
 
mbossman2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Location: RTP, NC
Posts: 2,439
Quote:
Originally posted by doctorgonzo
According to whois, the domain is registered to a New Jersey company:

158 Oxford Avenue
Fair Haven, NJ 07704
US
732-747-0457 fax: 123 123 1234

I wouldn't necessarily trust it. Go with what's known, like newegg. If it ain't broke...
if they have nothing to hide, then why not list it on their website?
mbossman2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-14-2003, 01:54 PM   #6
Audio/Video Expert
 
SonicVanguard's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: West Michigan
Posts: 1,625
And notice the fax number: 123-123-1234. And using reverse phone number lookup, the primary phone shows nothing as well.

Rather bogus if you ask me.

Dave.
__________________
Dave.

Go where there is no path and leave a trail.
SonicVanguard is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-14-2003, 02:52 PM   #7
glc
Forum Administrator
Staff
Premium Member
 
glc's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2000
Location: Joplin MO
Posts: 36,460
Lots of domain holders use bogus phone numbers to avoid spam.

I believe that's a residential area, there won't be a storefront at that address. I looked it up on Streets and Trips, I'm familiar with that area having grown up about 5 miles from there, it looks to be away from any commercial area.

There is a phone listing for that address, last name matches but it's a different number - checked this at Yahoo People Search.

I'd bet that this is a kid building stuff out of his house and selling it over the Internet.
glc is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 12-15-2003, 01:24 AM   #8
Member (6 bit)
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Brooklyn Center, MN
Posts: 52
Quote:
Originally posted by glc
Lots of domain holders use bogus phone numbers to avoid spam.

I believe that's a residential area, there won't be a storefront at that address. I looked it up on Streets and Trips, I'm familiar with that area having grown up about 5 miles from there, it looks to be away from any commercial area.

There is a phone listing for that address, last name matches but it's a different number - checked this at Yahoo People Search.

I'd bet that this is a kid building stuff out of his house and selling it over the Internet.
That may be true cause out of the 20 or so emails I sent to him it was always the same guy no matter what email address I sent is to, technical...comments...customer service...etc. His name is James Noonan. Hmmm, maybe ya can try and email him and see if hes bogus or not. Someone could always give that business/company bureau(typo?) a call to see if the company/oxfordpc even exists, or if its legit.

Last edited by KidKai03; 12-15-2003 at 01:27 AM.
KidKai03 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-15-2003, 04:16 AM   #9
glc
Forum Administrator
Staff
Premium Member
 
glc's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2000
Location: Joplin MO
Posts: 36,460
I'm not saying that he's bogus - I'm saying that this is most likely a small home-operated business, not a traditional PC building business. Didn't Bill Gates start in a garage? The fact that he answers his emails promptly is good.
glc is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 12-15-2003, 09:52 AM   #10
Staff
Premium Member
 
mairving's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 1999
Location: Arlington, TN
Posts: 5,538
Quote:
Originally posted by glc
Lots of domain holders use bogus phone numbers to avoid spam.
Yeah and registars are starting to crack down on that. You can lose your domain name if you enter bogus information.

OxfordPC has a solid 10.0 rating from Reseller Ratings but there are very few reviews. The key to any company though is not how their site looks or if they have a physical address or not. It is how they deal with problems. That is the real unknown factor with them. Just as long as you use a credit card when ordering you are generally safe since you have a pretty good way to recover your money if a company is bogus.
__________________

Want to Make $$$$ with your Computer? No Risk! Simply press shift-4 four times in a row
mairving is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-15-2003, 03:54 PM   #11
Member (6 bit)
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Brooklyn Center, MN
Posts: 52
Hmmm...well, thanks for the information and if anyone happens to fall upon some new information reguarding Oxfordpc please keep me posted. =)
KidKai03 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Still Need Help? Type Your Keywords Here:


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:45 AM.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.6
Copyright ©2000 - 2012, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
SEO by vBSEO 3.6.0