Go Back   PCMech Forums > General & Off Topic > General Discussion

Need Some Help? Type Your Keywords Here:

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 04-04-2004, 11:37 AM   #1
Stop winking at me!!!
 
Iman74's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: CT
Posts: 1,482
Send a message via Yahoo to Iman74
Are these prices too good to be true?

Check out this site, and let me know what your take is on it.

http://www.getsoftnow.biz/
Iman74 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-04-2004, 11:43 AM   #2
Served with Pride
Staff
Premium Member
 
Panama Red's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: near the left coast of Michigan
Posts: 14,565
Send a message via AIM to Panama Red
Check the testimonials. They refer to CDCheap.net and so does the bug at the bottom of the page. But when you link to CDCheap.net, the page doesn't exist. I think this is the place I read about recently as being an Eastern Europe Credit card scam. Think it needs some more research.

edit: Bingo! last question in FAQ. "Where does this software come from?" Easter Europe!! Also says free shipping will take 2-4 weeks. Don't think I'd gamble with these guys.

Last edited by Panama Red; 04-04-2004 at 11:49 AM.
Panama Red is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 04-04-2004, 12:18 PM   #3
Member (11 bit)
 
Doobie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Mexico
Posts: 1,049
Send a message via AIM to Doobie Send a message via Yahoo to Doobie
I think this has been posted before and everyone decided it was a scam.
Doobie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-04-2004, 12:19 PM   #4
Computing Professor
Staff
Premium Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Posts: 11,718
You're right, it is too good to be true.
There is no legitmate way to knock $399 off of M$Office for a commercial distribution.
In your place I'd keep my credit card in my wallet.
Also, I'd run spybot after you view that site, which I'm going to do now.
pam123 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-04-2004, 12:24 PM   #5
Member (10 bit)
 
oddjob's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Vancouver Canada
Posts: 606
Quote:
Originally posted by CD Cheap
What do I get when I order something from you?

You get the CD(s) with the software in jewel case and labels. You also get the activation key, serial number or cd key necessary to activate the software so it work. Note, that you will not be able to register the software with the manufacturer and get their support, but we will do our best to support you any way possible. This includes providing different updates and service packs. However some updates will still be available from manufacturers, in fact most of them.
From what I've heard about these Eastern European outfits, they come through with the product: burned copies of the original software. No thanks!

spybot...good idea pam123.
oddjob is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Still Need Help? Type Your Keywords Here:


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:51 AM.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2012, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
SEO by vBSEO 3.6.0 PL2