Go Back   PCMech Forums > General & Off Topic > General Discussion

Need Some Help? Type Your Keywords Here:

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 04-30-2004, 07:27 AM   #1
Member (10 bit)
Premium Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Singapore
Posts: 788
Prices for Real ?

Does anyone have any opinion about this software eshop ?
The deals looks really good.

http://allofoem.biz/?radiotherapy
__________________
Intel E8400, Asus P5Q-EM, 2x2GB DDR2RAM, Seagate 500GB, 320GB, LG Supermulti 22x Writer, Philips 190C Monitor, XP Home, Silverstone Elements 500W PS.
redbaron_snoopy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-30-2004, 08:31 AM   #2
Member (12 bit)
 
not important's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Illinois
Posts: 3,557
The prices look TOO good for some of the software, mainly the XP stuff. My question would be, do you receive the license key with the OS's.
not important is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-30-2004, 09:44 AM   #3
Barefoot on the Moon!
Staff
Premium Member
 
Force Flow's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Northeastern USA
Posts: 13,285
I dunno, I'd be leery. The adobe stuff is TOO good as well.
__________________
There are two secrets to staying young, being happy, and achieving success. You have to laugh and find humor every day, and you have to have a dream.
Force Flow is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-30-2004, 09:53 AM   #4
Member (13 bit)
 
Confused's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 1999
Location: Mt Washington, KY
Posts: 4,927
Cool

I wouldn't trust that site with your credit card. Software is download only and gives no indication that you will be given a product key.
Chas
s
__________________
I may not be much, but I'm all I think about.
Confused is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-30-2004, 10:47 AM   #5
glc
Forum Administrator
Staff
Premium Member
 
glc's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2000
Location: Joplin MO
Posts: 36,460
It's all pirated. Stay away. Legitimate software is not distributed in .iso or Winrar format.
glc is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 04-30-2004, 12:50 PM   #6
Member (13 bit)
 
Alfie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 1999
Posts: 4,954
The usual giveaway,is the site secured?
If you click on buy,you'll see it's not,wouldn't and couldn't trust it.
Regard it as a scam.
Alfie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-30-2004, 12:54 PM   #7
Member (8 bit)
 
SamuraiWarrior's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Asian Paradise
Posts: 225
I'm surprised Bill hasn't tried to shut it down.
SamuraiWarrior is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-30-2004, 01:05 PM   #8
Professional gadfly
 
doctorgonzo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Minneapolis, MN
Posts: 6,364
Send a message via MSN to doctorgonzo
Quote:
Originally posted by glc
It's all pirated. Stay away. Legitimate software is not distributed in .iso or Winrar format.
Bingo. I've never received legitimate software in this manner in RAR or ZIP form. Also, the website says that it can offer software so cheap because it does "not shell out on [sic] CD manufacturing." This is patently false; the cost of a CD adds next to nothing to the cost of software. They're just lying to trick people into thinking it's legitimate.
doctorgonzo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-30-2004, 01:21 PM   #9
Member (10 bit)
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Jacksonville Beach, FL
Posts: 879
Considering they're selling longhorn on the homepage.. and longhorn isn't slated for release until 2006... I would stay far far away from them..
somethin' ain't right.
yellohut is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-30-2004, 01:38 PM   #10
Staff
Premium Member
 
mairving's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 1999
Location: Arlington, TN
Posts: 5,538
Let's see the domain was registered on March 30, 2004 (a month ago) to a guy in Brazil. You download the product and it is very cheap. Traceroutes and ping requests seem to give different answers every time. The site also shows up on a bunch of spam lists. Hmm, I think that something is stinks here.
__________________

Want to Make $$$$ with your Computer? No Risk! Simply press shift-4 four times in a row
mairving is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-30-2004, 01:39 PM   #11
Staff
Premium Member
 
mairving's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 1999
Location: Arlington, TN
Posts: 5,538
More interesting reading:
Here
mairving is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-30-2004, 03:00 PM   #12
Moderator
Staff
Premium Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Richmond, VA
Posts: 7,835
General Rule: If a software costs more than 70% off its retail price without a legitamate reason (ie. if it's an OEM, etc.), it's not legitamate.

kram
__________________
"For today, goodbye. For tomorrow, good luck. And forever, Go Blue!"
University of Michigan President Mary Sue Coleman
kram 2.0 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-30-2004, 07:51 PM   #13
Certified Audio Nut
 
Hi Ho's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Washington State
Posts: 7,202
Send a message via MSN to Hi Ho
Well they can't spell "Adobe Premiere". Apperantly adobe now makes some sort of paint. I wouldn't trust them.
__________________
"I'm not lying. I'm writing fiction with my mouth." - Homer Simpson My Miscelaneous Gallery
ASUS P7P55D PRO / Intel Core i7 860 / 8GB Mushkin DDR3 1600 RAM / OCZ Vertex 2 120GB SSD / Seagate 1TB 7200.12 / Asus Radeon 5870 1GB / LG Super-Multi 22x SATA DVD-RW / Windows 7 Home Premium 64bit / Cable Modem / HT Omega Striker 7.1 Sound Card / FSP 700W PSU / Logitech MX1000 Wireless Laser Mouse / Asus 24" 16:9 LCD w/Webcam / Axiom Audiobyte 2.1 Speakers
Hi Ho is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-30-2004, 09:33 PM   #14
Member (10 bit)
Premium Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Singapore
Posts: 788
Thanks for the advice. I'll warn my sis who got this through an email.
redbaron_snoopy is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Still Need Help? Type Your Keywords Here:


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:41 AM.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.6
Copyright ©2000 - 2012, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
SEO by vBSEO 3.6.0