Go Back   PCMech Forums > Help & Discussion > Home Theater, Audio, and Video

Need Some Help? Type Your Keywords Here:

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 05-22-2012, 03:55 PM   #1
Member (8 bit)
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Posts: 202
can anyone attest to the viability of this TV channel software?

Watch TV on PC - Watch Over 3000 TV Channels On Any PC
Omega Man is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-22-2012, 06:10 PM   #2
Member (10 bit)
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: USA, New Jersey
Posts: 534
Quote:
Originally Posted by Omega Man View Post
I do not have first hand experience, but I was curious and just found some info that might help determine what it's about.

The review below seems to say the channels are mostly free broadcast channels, old outdated movies, old TV shows, News & Politics. For example, I get my TV (about 50 channels, 20 of which are ok to watch) over the air free using an old fashioned TV antenna and it sounds like similar programming. So, if you'd be satisfied with that type of thing then you might like it.

Digital TV for PC 2 – DTV4PC Scam Reviews


Here on Amazon, read the reviews. Thay are all very low (1 star).
No tech support. Expect no refunds.
Amazon.com: Digital TV For PC 2: Software


In other words, there are various free over the air broadcasts available via satellite and TV Antenna. It sounds like this company tapped into all the free stuff and converted it to something that could be broadcast over the Internet.

---pete---
Petef56 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-22-2012, 06:58 PM   #3
Techphile.
 
David M's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: San Francisco Bay
Posts: 6,557
There are some that are based outside of the country that are questionable as to their legitimacy and legality. This might be one of those. I don't know, but it might be worth getting some truly independent reviews of this one before handing your credit card number over to them.
__________________
Asus P8P67 WS Revolution | Intel 2600K @ 4.7 GHz | Win 7 Pro 64 |8 gigs Corsair 1600 | Two Diamond 6990's in Crossfire| Corsair AX1200 | Thermalright Silver Arrow | Western Digital Black 2TB 64 meg cache | Lian-Li PC-A71B | Logitec Z-5500 | Three Asus 26" VW266H monitors running under Eyefinity |
David M is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-22-2012, 10:23 PM   #4
Barefoot on the Moon!
Staff
Premium Member
 
Force Flow's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Northeastern USA
Posts: 13,806
I doubt it's legit/legal.

It's expensive and a big headache (legally speaking) to broadcast content from one country in another. Very few shows ever make world-wide distribution, and even fewer networks even try.
__________________
There are two secrets to staying young, being happy, and achieving success. You have to laugh and find humor every day, and you have to have a dream.
Force Flow is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-23-2012, 09:32 AM   #5
Techphile.
 
David M's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: San Francisco Bay
Posts: 6,557
I just got a warning from McAfee listing this site as a "threat". McAfee did not provide any other information than that. (McAfee was free...heh )

Given that, I would not click on the link in the first post. It may be "drive by" malware, meaning you get malware just by clicking going to the homepage, which is what I did. I am now doing a malwarebytes deep scan. So far Malwarebytes has not detected any malware on my computer.

The mod team might consider deleting the link in the first post or just delete the whole thread.
David M is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-23-2012, 09:40 AM   #6
Tweak Monster
Staff
Premium Member
 
MaxRat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: indiana
Posts: 3,600
Send a message via MSN to MaxRat
if you want free Internet TV then get Joost or Boxie... they both work well and even the limited Internet TV inside Windows Media Center isnt half bad
__________________
MSI 890GXM-G65 mATX/1075t/Patriot DDR3-1600 2x8gb /WD 640 aaks 95mb/s /XFX 5830/Zalman9700nt/ Thermaltake TP750w modular

New Build (on Hold) Intel 3770k / Gigabyte Z77-UD5H

New Build AMD FX-8350 / Gigabyte 990FX-UD5 / Asus 5970X2 GPU
MaxRat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-23-2012, 09:42 AM   #7
glc
Forum Administrator
Staff
Premium Member
 
glc's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2000
Location: Joplin MO
Posts: 41,189
We aren't going to delete it, but everyone should now be forewarned.
glc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-23-2012, 11:04 AM   #8
Techphile.
 
David M's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: San Francisco Bay
Posts: 6,557
I finished the scan and Malwarebytes did not detect any malware on my computer.
David M is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-23-2012, 01:51 PM   #9
Member (10 bit)
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: USA, New Jersey
Posts: 534
Quote:
Originally Posted by David M View Post
I just got a warning from McAfee listing this site as a "threat". McAfee did not provide any other information than that. (McAfee was free...heh )

Given that, I would not click on the link in the first post. It may be "drive by" malware, meaning you get malware just by clicking going to the homepage, which is what I did. I am now doing a malwarebytes deep scan. So far Malwarebytes has not detected any malware on my computer.

The mod team might consider deleting the link in the first post or just delete the whole thread.
Dave, I'm the one who reported to the mods here about a "Windows Antivirus 2012" fake alert on the other thread Titled "Nato Riot..." but I had also clicked the link you are reporting on but I don't recall if it was in the same session. All I know is that I was in the "Nato Riot" thread, I clicked the second link, and about 30 to 60 seconds later as I was waiting for the video to display, a simple text window popped up with the fake alert. I shut down my PC, restarted it and ran all my scans which all came up clean. So I may have picked it up here, within this thread but it didn't trigger until much later.

---pete---
Petef56 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-23-2012, 08:13 PM   #10
Techphile.
 
David M's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: San Francisco Bay
Posts: 6,557
Pete, I'm the one who got a warning from McAfee that DT4PC.net might be malicious....so I reported the alert. It had nothing to do with the Chicago riot website.
David M is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-23-2012, 11:59 PM   #11
Member (8 bit)
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Posts: 202
The link in question came directly from an ad from a legitimate website such as Facebook. I don't have any problem with you deleting the link however, I have the answer to my question. It seems like it's junk in more than one way.
Omega Man is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-24-2012, 09:25 AM   #12
Techphile.
 
David M's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: San Francisco Bay
Posts: 6,557
You can still get malware by clicking on links on legitimate websites.
David M is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Still Need Help? Type Your Keywords Here:


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:11 PM.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2013, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
SEO by vBSEO 3.6.1