Go Back   PCMech Forums > Help & Discussion > Internet, Web Applications, & The Cloud

Need Some Help? Type Your Keywords Here:

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 06-06-2004, 01:43 AM   #1
Member (7 bit)
 
Izumui Abriel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Michigan, west coast
Posts: 83
Send a message via ICQ to Izumui Abriel Send a message via AIM to Izumui Abriel Send a message via Yahoo to Izumui Abriel
Angry Fire same problem, not a month later

Okay folks I'm having the same problem with the website I was havin' before. I just get the 'cannot find server' page. When I know it's there.

It's not just one site either, it's the whole damn server!
http://www.globalrpgs.com/
http://www.bloodlust.globalrpgs.com/
http://www.malvaria.com/

I've got have another pow-wow with the Tech Support weenie at my ISP and ask directly if they block a particular server/site on the end of a single user/Internet Protocal Address. He seemed to be able to access the site alright....

Any ideas(beyond the obvious, guys I'm not dumb so don't patronize me. I've already checked my security setting, cleared my history, cookies and temporary internet files!)? This is a real problem for me, since this is the second time this occurance has happened in under a month and the problem seemed to absolve itself after two weeks last time. I don't know what happened. It happened then it stopped.

Anybody heared of sumthin' like this before, c'mon gurus I need some serous help. I'm a moderator(SGM) at the malvaria site, and i cant moderate when I can't access the site, arrghhh!

Aaron
Izumui Abriel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-06-2004, 02:36 AM   #2
Member (10 bit)
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 590
Send a message via ICQ to Vigo
SDF... hmm... oh.

Are you on dial-up or broadband? The only thing I can think of is a ban for a range of ip's. When a site typically tries to ban a user they usually ban a range of ip's to try to keep out those with dynamic ip's. Its partially effective because even a dynamic ip issued by an isp doesn't usually change by much over a short period of time. This also means sometimes some people are banned without knowledge or cause because their ip happens to be within the range (usually happens where if person a is banned, half his community who shares his isp is sometimes banned)
Vigo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-06-2004, 02:54 AM   #3
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 31
Actually, what you're describing has happened to me before. Who is your ISP? Mine is BellSouth's Fast Access ADSL. I have no physical proof to back me up, but I think it's the modem. I don't see how, but it's the only explaination I could come up with.
When I would get those error pages, I would disconnect and cut the power to my modem then cut it back on, wait for it to get sync then reconnect and the pages would work for a while again. We don't have that modem anymore and the problems are gone, so I dunno.
GimmeDaMic is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-06-2004, 02:56 AM   #4
Member (10 bit)
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 590
Send a message via ICQ to Vigo
I believe his problem is secluded to that one server.
Vigo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-06-2004, 05:38 AM   #5
Member (7 bit)
 
Izumui Abriel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Michigan, west coast
Posts: 83
Send a message via ICQ to Izumui Abriel Send a message via AIM to Izumui Abriel Send a message via Yahoo to Izumui Abriel
*hits head against the desk* Thanks for that Vigo, that makes everything so much the clearer <---note the fecicious tone.

I'm running Dial up, a local telephone company runs the ISP. It might be the modem, but it appears to be isolated to this particlar server(as I've said before). So hardware problems, though they do exsist within my modem, aren't likely to be the trouble.

I know the webmaster, like I said moderator(Senior Game Master)I communicate with him quite frequently, in fact his wife just had a kid not two days ago, anyway he checked it out. As before, no IPs matching mine have been blocked. In fact I doubt very much that too many have been blocked at all.

In fact there are no other michigan residents on the site, besides myself, so they couldn't have banned that range or IPs because it would have banned me and Steve would have picked that right out.

hmm,
Aaron
Izumui Abriel is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Still Need Help? Type Your Keywords Here:


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:12 AM.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.6
Copyright ©2000 - 2012, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
SEO by vBSEO 3.6.0