Go Back   PCMech Forums > Help & Discussion > Internet, Web Applications, & The Cloud

Need Some Help? Type Your Keywords Here:

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 06-01-2005, 05:05 PM   #1
Member (7 bit)
 
gerberdude's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Busch Stadium
Posts: 75
Strange hyperlinks

Friends,

When I browse some sites, I am hit with these strange links that appear in the site that I am viewing. A word will appear to be green and will present an ad when it is scrolled over. I think this is some type of spyware but maybe not. Any help? I am using WinXP with Internet Explorer.

Gerberdude
gerberdude is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-01-2005, 11:17 PM   #2
Barefoot on the Moon!
Staff
Premium Member
 
Force Flow's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Northeastern USA
Posts: 13,382
It's a form of advertising that helps maintain and fund the site.

Alternative browsers, such as firefox and opera, automatically block this form of advertising.
__________________
There are two secrets to staying young, being happy, and achieving success. You have to laugh and find humor every day, and you have to have a dream.
Force Flow is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-02-2005, 12:36 AM   #3
Professional Cow Tipper
 
juppy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Enid, OK, U.S.A.
Posts: 2,859
I'm using Firefox, and I still see the green links. Am I missing something?
__________________
Excellent guess, Kreskin! Wrong...but excellent.
*quote from Space Quest 6*
juppy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-07-2005, 12:32 AM   #4
Member (4 bit)
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 12
Something strange

I was at a friends house the other day and was showing him my website. The site is gambling related and to make a long story short when my site opened in his IE browser about every other word was a link which when clicked on took my visitors to other casino sites which in short it was stealing my traffic. I thought someone had hacked my site so I rushed home to fix it but it worked fine on my computer and other computers I checked. So this may be something like you are seeing. I later checked other sites from my friends computer and all the gambling sites did the same thing. For example the word casino or gambling was always turned into a link and directed the user to a casino affiliate program. This virus was easy to see on his computer because the sites looked very strange with so many links. Nothing like the small links you see on this or other sites which are legit links. example ( AMD Processor ) Anyway I don't know what the virus is or how to fix it but I can tell you there is a virus much like what you are talking about.
rwrw1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-07-2005, 04:15 AM   #5
Gremlin Overlord
 
Jaggannath's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Australia
Posts: 2,382
rwrw1, what you are talking about sounds more like a spybot of some description, if it's only triggered by certain sites which are casinos.
What I'd suggest is that you run Spybot and Ad-Aware over his computer, if his anti-virus scan shows nothing
Jaggannath is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-07-2005, 06:35 AM   #6
Premium Member
 
Statica's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 1999
Posts: 9,231
Quote:
Originally Posted by juppy
I'm using Firefox, and I still see the green links. Am I missing something?
Yes. The first thing you need is to be able to block out the words. For that you need the Adblock extension for your Firefox.
Then you need to selectively block out the ad company that is being used on the site. It's usually a .JS script that is doing it.
Take your Adblock+Firefox browser to a site that puts up these ads. Now click the Adblock link that appears on the lower right corner of your browser. It will show you the elements that have been loading up. This domain is a common culprit, but not necessary the only one - http://txt.vibrantmedia.com/.........
So all you do is set a filter that goes http://*.vibrantmedia.com/*
Mind you, that is only one example, a bit of a practised eye will show you what scripts are rogue and what are part of the site for content.
Statica is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-07-2005, 11:02 PM   #7
Professional Cow Tipper
 
juppy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Enid, OK, U.S.A.
Posts: 2,859
Thanks for the info, Statica! Much appreciated!
juppy is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Still Need Help? Type Your Keywords Here:


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:35 AM.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2012, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
SEO by vBSEO 3.6.0 PL2