Go Back   PCMech Forums > Help & Discussion > Internet, Web Applications, & The Cloud

Need Some Help? Type Your Keywords Here:

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 07-23-2001, 08:54 PM   #1
Perpetual Newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 1999
Location: NY, US
Posts: 1,682
Send a message via ICQ to Gintaras
Can I found out who send me this e-mail?

This is from e-mail:

Status: U
Return-Path:
Received: from smtp.agsystems.com ([12.15.21.40])
by eagle (EarthLink SMTP Server) with ESMTP id tlpgqd.bql.37tiu0o
for ; Mon, 23 Jul 2001 17:37:33 -0700 (PDT)
Received: from tahoe.agsystems.com ([12.15.21.15]) by smtp.agsystems.com with Microsoft SMTPSVC(5.5.1877.197.19);
Mon, 23 Jul 2001 19:49:40 -0500
Received: from dendom78.agsystems.com (172.20.13.78) by tahoe.agsystems.com (Worldmail 1.3.167) for gintarasb@earthlink.net; 23 Jul 2001 19:35:51 -0500
Message-ID: <3B30D57E0001BA0B@tahoe.agsystems.com> (added by tahoe.agsystems.com)
From: "angelina gomez"
To: gintarasb@earthlink.net
Subject: AGS letterhead
date: Mon, 23 Jul 2001 18:38:22 -0500
MIME-Version: 1.0
X-MIMEOLE: Produced By Microsoft MimeOLE V5.50.4133.2400
X-Mailer: Microsoft Outlook Express 5.50.4133.2400
Content-Type: multipart/mixed; boundary="----0AA12170_Outlook_Express_message_boundary"
Content-Disposition: Multipart message
Gintaras is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-24-2001, 03:37 AM   #2
glc
Forum Administrator
Staff
Premium Member
 
glc's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2000
Location: Joplin MO
Posts: 37,773
Received: from dendom78.agsystems.com (172.20.13.78)

That's the originating machine. That IP address is an internal private LAN IP, but the 12.x.x.x IP's are valid for that domain. This company does have a website. If you feel that you have received SPAM and wish to discuss that matter, contact the admin contact listed below.

The Data in Network Solutions' WHOIS database is provided by Network
Solutions for information purposes, and to assist persons in obtaining
information about or related to a domain name registration record.
Network Solutions does not guarantee its accuracy. By submitting a
WHOIS query, you agree that you will use this Data only for lawful
purposes and that, under no circumstances will you use this Data to:
(1) allow, enable, or otherwise support the transmission of mass
unsolicited, commercial advertising or solicitations via e-mail
(spam); or (2) enable high volume, automated, electronic processes
that apply to Network Solutions (or its systems). Network Solutions
reserves the right to modify these terms at any time. By submitting
this query, you agree to abide by this policy.

Registrant:
Associated Global Systems Inc. (AGSYSTEMS-DOM)
550 E. Devon, Suite 150
Itasca, IL 60143
US

Domain Name: AGSYSTEMS.COM

Administrative Contact, Technical Contact:
Knol, Louis (LK4129) louis.knol@AGSYSTEMS.COM
Associated Global Systems
550 E Devon, STE 150
Itasca, IL 60143
1-630-775-1177 (FAX) 1-630-775-1251
Billing Contact:
Madzy, Tom (TMD468) tom.madzy@AGSYSTEMS.COM
Associated Global Systems, Inc
550 E. Devon, Suite 150
Itasca, IL 60143
US
630-775-1177 630-775-1251

Record last updated on 28-Jun-2001.
Record expires on 26-Jun-2003.
Record created on 25-Jun-1996.
Database last updated on 23-Jul-2001 14:30:00 EDT.

Domain servers in listed order:

INTERNET-DNS01.AGSYSTEMS.COM 12.15.21.51
CBRU.BR.NS.ELS-GMS.ATT.NET 199.191.128.105
CMTU.MT.NS.ELS-GMS.ATT.NET 12.127.16.69
glc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-24-2001, 04:51 PM   #3
Perpetual Newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 1999
Location: NY, US
Posts: 1,682
Send a message via ICQ to Gintaras
Thanks Glc,

I got this morning another one same e-mail with virus attached.
Last nite I did the same as you on search, I just got less info than you did.


I called them this morning and told about e-mails. Their network infected vith virus.

Thanks again for info.
Gintaras is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-26-2001, 02:39 PM   #4
Member (9 bit)
 
Jade's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Posts: 441
Yes also keep in mind if you activate the virus it will forward itself to people in your contact list. It almost certain the person you are talking about had his hard drive wiped out.
Jade is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-30-2001, 01:35 AM   #5
Member (11 bit)
 
AlwaysUp's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 1999
Location: Sherman, Texas
Posts: 1,778
Send a message via MSN to AlwaysUp
Check out the article "Incredible story of Dos (denial of service) attack on grc.com" I found it facinating. The link is http://grc.com/dos/intro.htm ....read it. You won't be bored!
__________________
Intel P4 2.4Ghz cpu, Intel D850MVSE mobo, ATI Radeon All-in-Wonder 8500 @275Mhz video, WD800JB 80Gb hdd, 1024Mb PC800 RDRAM, Sony DVD/CD-Rom, Sony CD-R/CD-RW, 330W Antec psu, Windows XP Pro-completed Jan. 2004
AlwaysUp is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Still Need Help? Type Your Keywords Here:


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:36 AM.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2012, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
SEO by vBSEO 3.6.0 PL2