|
|||||||
![]() |
|
|
LinkBack | Thread Tools | Search this Thread | Rate Thread | Display Modes |
|
|
#1 |
|
Member (5 bit)
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Midwest
Posts: 18
|
After a while of Internet surfing (using IE 6.0), I'll be on a web site and click a link. The next page will be completely white with the following message"
"NOT FOUND: The requested object does not exist on this server. The link you followed is either outdated, inaccurate or the server has been instructed to not let you have it." I hit the refresh button, nothing happens. So I go back to the previous page and click the link again. The next page is white again, but this time, in the far left top, it says "Monster.com". I hear a fast series of clicks (like repeat mouse clicks), then I'm at www.monster.com. Any web address I enter follows the white monster.com page..then I end up at the monster web site. I try this on Netscape 6.2, same thing happens. After a while, I can finally go on to another page. It's maddening! I do go to monster.com as I'm currently in the job search (who isn't nowadays right?). I've tried running a virus check, it comes up with nothing. I clear my history, cookies, temp files, the problem persists. My knickers are in a SERIOUS twist because it takes away productivity and it happens frequently. A while ago, someone mentioned something called top text. I don't believe that is the case here as I always get redirected to monster.com, which is a site i visit regularly. Any ideas? This have been going on for several months now and I don't know what else to do. Thanks. |
|
|
|
|
|
#2 |
|
Retired
Join Date: Apr 2000
Location: Modesto,Calif
Posts: 4,048
|
pretyblkgrl,
I believe monster.com may be using "scumware" and has some entries in your registry. It has basically taken over your browser. Download and run AdAware (its free). Did you have to register at monster? Carl |
|
|
|
|
|
#3 |
|
Member (5 bit)
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Midwest
Posts: 18
|
I do have Adaware. I run it everyday and yet this problem persists.
And yeah, Im registered with Monster. Is there anyway to get that "scumware" out of my registry? And why does it only take over my browser at certain times is that is the case...? |
|
|
|
|
|
#4 |
|
Retired
Join Date: Apr 2000
Location: Modesto,Calif
Posts: 4,048
|
pretyblkgrl,
The reason I asked about registration is because they may have had an user agreement that allows them to control your browser. No doubt, very fine print if they do such a thing. One thing you can do to help nail down what is happening, is to Cont+Alt+Delete when your browser is not right. That might show a program running in the background you know nothing about. If there is, shut down the program and see what happens. Carl |
|
|
|
|
|
#5 |
|
Banned
|
My wife's been registered on monster.com for quite awhile and we've never seen anything like this. I can't imagine Monster is loading any scumware in our systems...could this be a hosts file issue? I'm thinking some IP's in the hosts file got messed up and that is causing the re-direct.
-Craig |
|
|
|
|
|
#6 |
|
Retired
Join Date: Apr 2000
Location: Modesto,Calif
Posts: 4,048
|
audiyoda,
Thanks for helping here. I'm not familiar with Monster and was taking a stab in the dark. pretyblkgrl, We'll getcha runnin' proper some way. Carl |
|
|
|
|
|
#7 |
|
Member (10 bit)
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Oregon Coast
Posts: 768
|
Have you updated to the newest version of ad aware? The ad companys are getting as bad as the virus writers. Need to keep your file updated to combat the newest twists.
|
|
|
|
![]() |
| Bookmarks |
| Thread Tools | Search this Thread |
| Display Modes | Rate This Thread |
|
|