Go Back   PCMech Forums > Help & Discussion > Internet, Web Applications, & The Cloud

Need Some Help? Type Your Keywords Here:

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 09-08-2002, 11:04 AM   #1
Member (8 bit)
 
BassMaster4000's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Upland, CA
Posts: 205
Question Is this site safe?

This site has some pretty good prices. I guess it is kinda like ebay. What I want to know is if I will be ripped off? Everything sold here is sold by the website, not by a user. Everything is brand new. Also when I go to register it asks for a credit card, the little lock at the bottom of my browser says it is secure. Here is the link.


www.dealspin.com
BassMaster4000 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-08-2002, 12:05 PM   #2
Banned
 
audiyoda's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2000
Location: East of Lake Michigan -- West of Lake Huron -- South of Lake Superior and North of civilization.
Posts: 2,219
Send a message via AIM to audiyoda Send a message via Yahoo to audiyoda
Hmmmmm....not listed on ResellerRatings.com -- either very new or the people that shop there don't know enough to rank them.Otherwise, I've never heard of them.

Now....what will Ron do when he finds you not going to his buddies over at Mwave??? They are in your backyard, aren't they? And from what I've read around here, Ron seems to keep them in business by himself

-Craig
audiyoda is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-08-2002, 12:13 PM   #3
Retired
 
Kubie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2000
Location: Modesto,Calif
Posts: 4,048
BM4000,
Unless you're in a rush to get something, why don't you give the site two weeks to a month to see if its legit.
Keep an eye on reseller ratings and see if anyone has good or bad to say about it.
Carl
Kubie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-09-2002, 09:55 PM   #4
Member (8 bit)
 
BassMaster4000's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Upland, CA
Posts: 205
RE

Cool thanks guys. Ya my dad buys a lot from mwave. Mabie a little to much. lol

Jason
BassMaster4000 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-09-2002, 10:12 PM   #5
Member (13 bit)
 
Floppyman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 1999
Posts: 6,791
Sometimes I'm a bit leary of sites even though they have verisign etc.. Can the certificates at the bottom there be faked? Thanks.
Floppyman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-09-2002, 10:17 PM   #6
Member (14 bit)
Premium Member
 
TwoRails's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: The Great NorthWest
Posts: 12,594
Hmmmm.... never heard of them. Just my $0.02, but the site seems a little hoekie. Is this their way of auctioning?
TwoRails is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-10-2002, 05:08 AM   #7
Premium Member
 
Statica's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 1999
Posts: 9,231
Its just a certificate and you can buy one for a very nominal sum. It isnt a certificate that implies that the site is good. All it means is that the guys have installed something from verisign or thawte that identifies the company while an encryption key is made. You can probably buy such a certificate at most hosting companies if you have your own domain name. The only requirements are a static IP.

So in essence dont need to fake a certificate if all it costs is about $5.

Quote:
Originally posted by Floppyman
Sometimes I'm a bit leary of sites even though they have verisign etc.. Can the certificates at the bottom there be faked? Thanks.
Statica is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-13-2002, 01:13 AM   #8
Member (9 bit)
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Bridgeport, CT USA!
Posts: 404
Send a message via AIM to Texuspete00
I help keep mwave in business too. I'm from the east coast even!
Texuspete00 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-13-2002, 02:09 AM   #9
Member (10 bit)
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Edmonton, AB, Canada
Posts: 628
One thing I found interesting is that on each item they list is a 1.25 participation fee. In essence they could just be pulling your chain by saying that they are selling stuff but your spin nevers wins. I agree with Kubie, just wait and see if the site is still up in a couple of months, meanwhile you can use more established sites that users here recommend.
Trent Steel is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Still Need Help? Type Your Keywords Here:


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:35 AM.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2012, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
SEO by vBSEO 3.6.0 PL2