|
|||||||
![]() |
|
|
LinkBack | Thread Tools | Search this Thread | Rate Thread | Display Modes |
|
|
#1 |
|
Member (5 bit)
|
What is this and what shoud I do about it
Hi can anybody tell me what this is all about I have never mass
E-Mail or spamed and I have receive several of these E-Mails This is the Postfix program at host ald.net. I'm sorry to have to inform you that the message returned below could not be delivered to one or more destinations. For further assistance, please send mail to If you do so, please include this problem report. You can delete your own text from the message returned below. The Postfix program denied Access denied Access denied |
|
|
|
|
|
#2 |
|
Banned
Join Date: Jul 2000
Location: Bakersfield,CA
Posts: 7,761
|
This is what Postfix is
http://www.porcupine.org/wietse/ Believe it or not, Furball.com is the Weather Channel site. |
|
|
|
|
|
#3 |
|
Member (5 bit)
|
I still don't understand what is it ala about?
|
|
|
|
|
|
#4 |
|
Forum Administrator
Staff
Premium Member
Join Date: May 2000
Location: Joplin MO
Posts: 37,771
|
I think you need to do a virus, trojan, and spyware scan - you may have something like Klez which is mailing out to everyone in your adress book without your knowledge.
|
|
|
|
|
|
#5 |
|
Member (5 bit)
|
Hi I e-mailed my problem to JUNO and this is their responce
Hello, Thank you for contacting the Juno Help Center. We appreciate your bringing this matter to our attention. We understand your frustration at receiving bounces for e-mail that appears to have been sent from your own account. Please understand that spammers often forge the recipient's e-mail address in the "From" and "To" fields of the message headers in order to disguise the actual origin while creating confusion for spam recipients. If you would like to learn how to report spam to the correct domain, please see "How to Complain to the Spammer's Provider" at http://spam.abuse.net/userhelp/howtocomplain.shtml. Finally, we don't recommend replying to spammers (or using any "remove" option offered in a spam e-mail) since this confirms your e-mail address and often results in more spam in your Inbox. Thanks for helping us combat e-mail abuse!
|
|
|
|
|
|
#6 |
|
Member (6 bit)
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Monterey, CA
Posts: 59
|
Ocean -
That email is an auto-response from Juno (you probably sent to 'abuse@juno.com' or similar?). Since most of the msgs they get have to do with spam, that is what it is regarding. Anyway, let us see the full headers of the email. Maybe then we can see if it is a response to something you are actually trying to send that may not be getting the right address. Even though I doubt this is the case, it is possible. What is most probable is what glc has said. Go to here: http://www.moosoft.com/thecleaner/download.php Download the 30-day trial, install and run 'the cleaner', and see if you have the most common problem (more common than viruses even), some type of trojan. Also, let us know what OS you are using and what email client. I can assume you're using juno, but do you use something like Outlook Express to check your account? Also, do you use an address book with whatever client you use? ~K |
|
|
|
|
|
#7 |
|
Member (5 bit)
|
HI K
this is just a few I got about 8 of these From: CHARLES R DRISCOLL To: MAILER-DAEMON@pop3.iicinternet.com Date: Mon, 16 Dec 2002 20:27:10 -0500 Subject: Re: failure notice MIME-Version: 1.0 Content-Type: multipart/alternative; boundary=--__JNP_000_6244.0803.53ef Full-Name: CHARLES R DRISCOLL From: CHARLES R DRISCOLL To: admin@gatewaydefender.com Date: Mon, 16 Dec 2002 20:25:48 -0500 Subject: Re: Returned Mail: "Make sense to refinance now? rmazAtqqmtBWBie" MIME-Version: 1.0 Content-Type: multipart/alternative; boundary=--__JNP_000_45fe.534d.53ae Full-Name: CHARLES R DRISCOLL From: MAILER-DAEMON@ald.net (Mail Delivery System) To: crdriscoll@juno.com Date: Fri, 13 Dec 2002 11:03:40 -0500 (EST) Subject: Undelivered Mail Returned to Sender Message-ID: <20021213160340.E1ABD26C72@ald.net> Received: from mx10.boston.juno.com (mx10.boston.juno.com [64.136.24.132]) by maildeliver06.lax.untd.com with SMTP id AAA89WBG8ACT6QR2 for Fri, 13 Dec 2002 08:03:42 -0800 (PST) Received: from ald.net (ns1.ald.net [63.217.150.25]) by mx10.boston.juno.com with SMTP id AAA89WBG7ASPZYN2 for Fri, 13 Dec 2002 11:03:41 -0500 (EST) Received: by ald.net (Postfix) via BOUNCE id E1ABD26C72; Fri, 13 Dec 2002 11:03:40 -0500 (EST) MIME-Version: 1.0 Content-Type: multipart/report; report-type=delivery-status; boundary="0EF9426C6F.1039795420/ald.net" Return-Path: <> Ihavn't got any in the last week ! |
|
|
|
|
|
#8 |
|
Member (5 bit)
|
My system is win xp and I use juno's e mail system to check my account Thanks Rus
|
|
|
|
|
|
#9 |
|
Member (6 bit)
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Monterey, CA
Posts: 59
|
It actually looks like someone may be using your account to send spam or you may have some kind of Trojan on your computer trying to send it. Did you ever reply to a spam with subject "Make sense to refinance now? rmazAtqqmtBWBie"? It looks like it was originally from you, not to you. But I can't tell for sure. I would need to see the headers from the original mail. Look in your outgoing folder to see if there's anything unusual. Otherwise, give us the headers from another email. What I'm looking for is an email address in the "Return-Path".
~K Last edited by BlueKrystal22; 12-28-2002 at 03:22 PM. |
|
|
|
|
|
#10 |
|
Member (5 bit)
|
This is the whole e mail
From: Mail Delivery Subsystem To: Date: Tue, 10 Dec 2002 09:56:53 -0500 (EST) Subject: Returned mail: see transcript for details Message-ID: <200212101456.gBAEurW14647@mailout.igs.net> Received: from mx12.nyc.untd.com (mx12.nyc.untd.com [10.140.24.72]) by maildeliver05.lax.untd.com with SMTP id AAA89NAEXAP3VANJ for Tue, 10 Dec 2002 06:56:21 -0800 (PST) Received: from mailout.igs.net (nntp.igs.net [216.58.97.34]) by mx12.nyc.untd.com with SMTP id AAA89NAEWA4M87X2 for Tue, 10 Dec 2002 09:56:20 -0500 (EST) Received: from localhost (localhost) by mailout.igs.net (8.11.6/8.11.6) id gBAEurW14647; Tue, 10 Dec 2002 09:56:53 -0500 (EST) (envelope-from MAILER-DAEMON) MIME-Version: 1.0 Content-Type: multipart/report; report-type=delivery-status; boundary="gBAEurW14647.1039532213/mailout.igs.net" Return-Path: <> Auto-Submitted: auto-generated (failure) The original message was received at Tue, 10 Dec 2002 09:56:33 -0500 (EST) from 200-206-187-62.terra.com.br [200.206.187.62] (may be forged) ----- The following addresses had permanent fatal errors ----- (reason: 550 5.1.1 |
|
|
|
|
|
#11 |
|
Member (5 bit)
|
I delete spam as some as i can and never reply to any of it.This is part of juno's responce to my question "We understand your frustration at receiving bounces for e-mail that appears to have been sent from your own account. Please understand that spammers often forge the recipient's e-mail address in the "From" and "To" fields of the message headers in order to disguise the actual origin while creating confusion for spam recipients."
Thanks Rus |
|
|
|
|
|
#12 |
|
Member (10 bit)
|
Please run an av/trojan program scanner as already prompted in earlier posts.
cat
__________________
The harder I try, the problem gets worse, the trying gets harder and I start to curse. %$*^@+ &* When you get there don't come get me, you'll be lost again |
|
|
|
|
|
#13 |
|
Member (6 bit)
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Monterey, CA
Posts: 59
|
I'll have to agree with Cat. If you have run an antivirus/trojan and you haven't had any problems since, I wouldn't worry about it until you do again. Did you try The Cleaner? Did it find anything? Good Luck!
~K |
|
|
|
|
|
#14 |
|
Member (5 bit)
|
I ran the cleaner & norton and they didn't find any thing
|
|
|
|
|
|
#15 |
|
Member (6 bit)
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Monterey, CA
Posts: 59
|
If you don't get any more messages, then I wouldn't worry about it. Unless, of course, your norton virus definitions are out of date. Make sure you have the latest definitions, run the anti-virus scan, and if nothing comes up, don't worry about it until you get another message. Also, see
http://forum.pcmech.com/showthread.p...threadid=52096 for another current thread regarding email viruses. ~K |
|
|
|
|
|
#16 |
|
Member (10 bit)
|
You can also go to trendmicro and do an online scan. Do you have a firewall? Are you on dialup or on a LAN? If you have dsl or a cable modem it is important to have a firewall. You are always connected with that type of modem and getting hacked is becoming a frequent problem on the net.
cat Zonealarms has a freebie which is not too hard to set up. www.zonelabs.com |
|
|
|
|
|
#17 |
|
Member (5 bit)
|
I ran the cleaner & norton and they didn't find any thing and have not received any more in about 3 weeks i'll keep on running Norton & cleaner every three days.
Thanks for all your help Rus |
|
|
|
![]() |
| Bookmarks |
| Thread Tools | Search this Thread |
| Display Modes | Rate This Thread |
|
|