Go Back   PCMech Forums > Help & Discussion > Internet, Web Applications, & The Cloud

Need Some Help? Type Your Keywords Here:

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 01-02-2003, 10:18 AM   #1
Member (8 bit)
 
mikeheitz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Chicago
Posts: 156
Send a message via AIM to mikeheitz Send a message via Yahoo to mikeheitz
Any Web security experts around?

Hey gang, Happy New Year!

Got a question... I've posed this on a couple forums, but not here yet.

I've run across a couple log entries on my OWA server. I'm pretty new to security (about a decade as a network admin, now taking on more and more
responsibility) and have Googled the Propfind command... only a handful of results (including a MS Whitepaper I am currently reading).

Does anyone know what this is exactly? We do not have Instant Messaging enabled on the server... my main concern is that the Username that was listed was my own!!! I've used Visual Route to trace the IP addresses back with marginal success (one got lost after a bunch of hops and the other ended up in Pittsburgh, PA).

Any ideas or info would be greatly appreciated. Thanks!

2002-12-19 17:35:28 65.119.193.141 - 192.168.43.17 80 PROPFIND /instmsg/aliases/ - 404 -

then a short time later

2002-12-19 20:54:13 141.189.251.1 - 192.168.43.17 80 PROPFIND /instmsg/aliases/ - 404 -

Since the original 2 attacks listed here, there have been a few more attempts. Nothing major since they aren't getting anywhere with it, but it's a little disconcerting nonetheless. In the 2+ weeks since the first tiem I saw this, I have really found ZERO information about what exactly this is. I know what the PROPFIND statement is, but unless it's coming directly from me (since it's my username) this is an obvious attempt by someone to get into our server. I haven't found any info on exploits they might be targeting...

OK, enough rambling... ANY help or ideas would be appreciated.

Thanks
mikeheitz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-02-2003, 11:40 AM   #2
Member (14 bit)
 
reboot's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 1999
Location: Kelowna, B.C., Canada
Posts: 9,138
Here's a bunch of stuff on the first one: http://openrbl.org/ip/65/119/193/141.htm
Appears it comes from 24/7 media, an ad company
__________________
Black holes are where God divided by zero...
Cheers, Jim

Jims Modems
reboot is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-02-2003, 11:48 AM   #3
Member (8 bit)
 
mikeheitz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Chicago
Posts: 156
Send a message via AIM to mikeheitz Send a message via Yahoo to mikeheitz
Thanks Jim... I've actually used Visual Route to figure out where they are coming from. I just have no idea why these things suddenly started popping up.

On guy I spoke with mentioned that maybe I sent someone an email and they are basically trying to find out if I have an instant messaging ID in the same domain. But I'm not sure about that since I've never emailed anyone at any of these domains, and the fact that the same IP addresses keep trying it.
mikeheitz is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Still Need Help? Type Your Keywords Here:


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:41 PM.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.6
Copyright ©2000 - 2012, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
SEO by vBSEO 3.6.0