Go Back   PCMech Forums > Help & Discussion > Internet, Web Applications, & The Cloud

Need Some Help? Type Your Keywords Here:

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 06-10-2003, 09:31 PM   #1
Barefoot on the Moon!
Staff
Premium Member
 
Force Flow's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Northeastern USA
Posts: 13,285
paypal durmming up business or tighten security?

I got an email from paypal a few days ago. I have no idea why since I am not signed up, nor have I ever been signed up.

Here's the message:
Quote:

Dear PayPal Customer


This e-mail is the notification of recent innovations taken by PayPal to detect inactive customers and non-functioning mailboxes.

The inactive customers are subject to restriction and removal in the next 3 months.

Please confirm your email address and and Credit Card info number by logging in to your PayPal account using the form below:



Email Address:
Password:
Full Name #:
Credit Card #:
Exp.Date(mm/yyyy) #:
ATM PIN (For Bank Verification) #:




This notification expires May 31, 2003


Thanks for using PayPal!


This PayPal notification was sent to your mailbox. Your PayPal account is set up to receive the PayPal Periodical newsletter and product updates when you create your account. To modify your notification preferences and unsubscribe, go to https://www.paypal.com/PREFS-NOTI and log in to your account. Changes to your preferences may take several days to be reflected in our mailings. Replies to this email will not be processed.

If you previously asked to be excluded from Providian product offerings and solicitations, they apologize for this e-mail. Every effort was made to ensure that you were excluded from this e-mail. If you do not wish to receive promotional e-mail from Providian, go to http://removeme.providian.com/.

Copyright© 2002 PayPal Inc. All rights reserved. Designated trademarks and brands are the property of their respective owners.
Has anyone else recieved this? It seems really strange recieving this out of the blue.
__________________
There are two secrets to staying young, being happy, and achieving success. You have to laugh and find humor every day, and you have to have a dream.
Force Flow is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-10-2003, 09:40 PM   #2
Member (11 bit)
 
Mac Medic's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Posts: 1,729
It's a SCAM, do nothing. This was reported about 2 months ago by security companys. A real vendor will NEVER ask you for your CC# in an E-Mail, let alone a PIN#.
__________________
Better to use a Mac and be THOUGHT a fool, than to use Windows and REMOVE ALL DOUBT
Mac Medic is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-10-2003, 09:43 PM   #3
Member (11 bit)
 
Computer Hobbyist's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Location: Blue Springs, MO
Posts: 1,766
Respond to it and, boy will you pay, pal!!!!

Tell your ISP to tighten his spam filters and delete the message.

CH
Computer Hobbyist is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-11-2003, 03:41 AM   #4
Member (10 bit)
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Posts: 634
The same thing has been going with Ebay as well. When they ask for your PIN# and Mother's Maiden Name then you should know something's wrong.
Vladiator16 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-12-2003, 03:31 PM   #5
Barefoot on the Moon!
Staff
Premium Member
 
Force Flow's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Northeastern USA
Posts: 13,285
Pretty slick scam...
Force Flow is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Still Need Help? Type Your Keywords Here:


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:11 PM.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.6
Copyright ©2000 - 2012, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
SEO by vBSEO 3.6.0