Go Back   PCMech Forums > Help & Discussion > Internet, Web Applications, & The Cloud

Need Some Help? Type Your Keywords Here:

Closed Thread
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 03-07-2004, 10:24 AM   #1
JCB
Member (9 bit)
 
JCB's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2000
Location: Grayson, GA
Posts: 335
Pissed Anyone else getting blasted with viruses?!?

Over the past 24 hours I have gotten around 30+ emails that contain viruses. They are the netsky, mydoom, and byte verify trojan viruses. Norton AV has caught them all and quarantined them. Here is the weird thing. I purchased my own domain name and have a website. There is nothing on my website, I just use it mostly to host images and to toy around with. The emails that I am getting are going to names that I dont even have set up as email accounts and I guess they are just defaulting to my email address. Any ideas why?
JCB is offline  
Old 03-07-2004, 10:50 AM   #2
Member (11 bit)
 
Mac Medic's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Posts: 1,729
The headers are spoofed.
__________________
Better to use a Mac and be THOUGHT a fool, than to use Windows and REMOVE ALL DOUBT
Mac Medic is offline  
Old 03-07-2004, 11:08 AM   #3
JCB
Member (9 bit)
 
JCB's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2000
Location: Grayson, GA
Posts: 335
No, I checked the source of the emails and the headers are not spoofed. Also I checked my options on my website and I do have it configured so that any email sent to and unknown address is forwarded to me. These are mass mailers meaning that these addresses are in someones address book, right?
JCB is offline  
Old 03-07-2004, 01:17 PM   #4
glc
Forum Administrator
Staff
Premium Member
 
glc's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2000
Location: Joplin MO
Posts: 37,771
Change your hosting email options to send mail to unknown addresses in your domain to the bit bucket, not to you.
glc is offline  
Old 03-16-2004, 08:23 AM   #5
Member (8 bit)
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: London
Posts: 157
I don't know if this is what spoofed means, but I know that these viruses use a list of default names they try and send to, so once the virus finds a new domain name to try it sends an email to all the names in it's default list... make any sense?
wintomato is offline  
Old 03-16-2004, 10:05 AM   #6
Staff
Premium Member
 
mairving's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 1999
Location: Arlington, TN
Posts: 5,538
Spoofing means that it looks like it comes from biff@no-virus.com , when it is actually being sent by buffy@virus-central.com . If the headers aren't spoofed, then you are in trouble. They have gotten a bit trickier with their header spoofing now. Now they tend to have the domain name that it was sent from in the header but the IP address is different. I have never seen anyone successfully fake the IP address of the oriiginating server though.
mairving is offline  
Old 12-11-2007, 11:16 AM   #7
Member (1 bit)
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 1
if you allowed your domain name to be seen by the public, they can find your domain name through domainwhitepages.com and find out who the registrar is -YOU- and the email you used to register that domain and send you emails. Marketing companies use this as well to spam new domains. You can prevent this if you purchase private domain registration, you can do this after the purchase the domain and at the time of purchase. Check with your host compnay.
Edward
cintronics is offline  
Old 12-11-2007, 12:12 PM   #8
Staff
Premium Member
 
rjfvillarosa's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Cardiff, Wales. UK
Posts: 6,105
cintronics.
This thread is over three and a half years old. I am sure the issue has long been dealt with.
I am closing this thread.
__________________
Niwa no niwa ni wa, niwa no niwatori wa niwaka ni wani o tabeta.
rjfvillarosa is offline  
Closed Thread

Bookmarks

Still Need Help? Type Your Keywords Here:


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:39 AM.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2012, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
SEO by vBSEO 3.6.0 PL2