Go Back   PCMech Forums > Help & Discussion > Internet, Web Applications, & The Cloud

Need Some Help? Type Your Keywords Here:

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 04-23-2004, 08:12 PM   #1
Certified Audio Nut
 
Hi Ho's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Washington State
Posts: 7,214
Send a message via MSN to Hi Ho
Strange Email

I just recieved the following message in my Hotmail inbox:

From: Mail Delivery Service
Subject: Delivery Status Notification

- These recipients of your message have been processed by the mail server:
bobmd@arabia.com; Failed; 5.1.1 (bad destination mailbox address)

Remote MTA 66.28.189.160: SMTP diagnostic: 551 is a
deactivated mailbox

I did not send this nor do I know what that address is. What could this be? There is also a 600kb attatchment which I will not open.
__________________
"I'm not lying. I'm writing fiction with my mouth." - Homer Simpson My Miscelaneous Gallery
ASUS P7P55D PRO / Intel Core i7 860 / 8GB Mushkin DDR3 1600 RAM / OCZ Vertex 2 120GB SSD / Seagate 1TB 7200.12 / Asus Radeon 5870 1GB / LG Super-Multi 22x SATA DVD-RW / Windows 7 Home Premium 64bit / Cable Modem / HT Omega Striker 7.1 Sound Card / FSP 700W PSU / Logitech MX1000 Wireless Laser Mouse / Asus 24" 16:9 LCD w/Webcam / Axiom Audiobyte 2.1 Speakers
Hi Ho is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-23-2004, 08:30 PM   #2
Member
 
DragonNOA1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Na Pali Haven
Posts: 2,812
Sounds like a virus sending out spoofed e-mails to me.

Edit* Doesn't necessarily mean that you have a virus.
__________________
*The command line, an elegant weapon for a more civilized age*
DragonNOA1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-23-2004, 09:21 PM   #3
Member (8 bit)
 
Join Date: Oct 2000
Location: Buffalo, NY
Posts: 148
Delete it. I've had similar emails. The first and only one that I opened the attachment on ended up being adware. My rule of thumb is if I don't know who sent it or it looks strange I delete it.
gbirke is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-23-2004, 09:24 PM   #4
Computing Professor
Staff
Premium Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Posts: 11,718
Yeah, it's just something to delete.
You might want to tell Hotmail that their virus filter missed one.
pam123 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-23-2004, 09:37 PM   #5
Member (9 bit)
 
thorlo6's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Florence, Mississippi
Posts: 261
Actually HiHo, your best bet, since MSN is your ISP, close out the email, and right click it. Then pull down and click block sender. You will get a large question block, just ignore what it says and click yes, then delete it. That way that particular mailer can't reach you with that address.thorlo6
__________________
[FONT=Times New Roman]
thorlo6 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-23-2004, 10:06 PM   #6
Certified Audio Nut
 
Hi Ho's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Washington State
Posts: 7,214
Send a message via MSN to Hi Ho
I always block strange messages and I never open attatchements. I had just never seen one like this before. BTW, MSN is not my ISP. I just use Hotmail.
Hi Ho is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-25-2004, 03:25 AM   #7
Gremlin Overlord
 
Jaggannath's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Australia
Posts: 2,382
I have received the same to both my Hotmail account and my university one... they were both viruses for me, they're sent with really random emails in the hope you'll wonder what it was you sent
Jaggannath is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Still Need Help? Type Your Keywords Here:


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:43 AM.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2012, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
SEO by vBSEO 3.6.0 PL2