Go Back   PCMech Forums > Help & Discussion > Networking & Online Security

Need Some Help? Type Your Keywords Here:

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 12-10-2008, 01:42 AM   #1
Member (10 bit)
 
Bill Lane's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 1999
Location: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA
Posts: 784
*** Trojan Horse Zlob.G ***

Hi All:

I started getting a Security Center Alert that looks like it's from Microsoft telling me I have the Trojan Zlob.G High Risk.

But something don't look right to me. The Keep Blocking & Unlock buttons are grayed out and the Enable Protection is missing the E in Enable.

When I Click nable Protection it takes me to a web sity to buy thier product.

http://www.defender-review.com/?a=112. the product is called SafeSoft.

It gives you the option ro download or buy.

AVG don't find this Trojan, AVG is up to date.

Also doing a search for this file didn't show anything.

OS: WinXP Pro.

Your help will be very much appreciated!!!
__________________
Have a great day !!!
Bill Lane

Last edited by Bill Lane; 12-10-2008 at 01:44 AM. Reason: Forgot to put my OS
Bill Lane is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-10-2008, 02:06 AM   #2
glc
Forum Administrator
Staff
Premium Member
 
glc's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2000
Location: Joplin MO
Posts: 37,782
Go to www.malwarebytes.org and download the free anti-malware and run it.
glc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-10-2008, 06:41 AM   #3
Member (10 bit)
 
Bill Lane's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 1999
Location: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA
Posts: 784
Hi glc:

Looks like that got rid of the trojan, at least it hasn't showed up so far.

Thanks again for steering me in the right direction !!!

Bill Lane
Bill Lane is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-10-2008, 05:12 PM   #4
Member (10 bit)
 
Bill Lane's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 1999
Location: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA
Posts: 784
Question

Hi glc:

Was the Security Center Alert a phony? it sure looked real except for the grayed out and the Enable Protection is missing the E in Enable.

Is that SafeSoft a real company? I would be afraid to do business with them if they use this tactic to get people to there site.

Would appreciate your opinion, and thanks again !!
Bill Lane is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-10-2008, 11:27 PM   #5
glc
Forum Administrator
Staff
Premium Member
 
glc's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2000
Location: Joplin MO
Posts: 37,782
Completely bogus.
glc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-11-2008, 03:30 AM   #6
Member (10 bit)
 
Bill Lane's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 1999
Location: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA
Posts: 784
Thanks

Hi glc:

Thanks !!
Bill Lane is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Still Need Help? Type Your Keywords Here:


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:52 PM.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2012, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
SEO by vBSEO 3.6.0 PL2