Go Back   PCMech Forums > PCMech Services and Support > Site and Forum Issues

Need Some Help? Type Your Keywords Here:

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 09-20-2010, 01:51 PM   #1
Member (3 bit)
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Posts: 4
Facebook spam?

Hey I just got an email a couple hours ago (from "Facebook Support, Tod Deline ") which is a clone of a facebook "you just reset your password" email.

However it was addressed to my pcmech email account, which looks something like pcmech.com@mydomain.com. I use this account for pcmech and ONLY pcmech. And the email was BCC'd to a bunch of other pcmech-themed email accounts.

Ideas?
mmseng is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-20-2010, 05:33 PM   #2
glc
Forum Administrator
Staff
Premium Member
 
glc's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2000
Location: Joplin MO
Posts: 37,776
Random spam. Out of our control. We assure you that we do not share our email address database with anyone.
glc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-20-2010, 10:52 PM   #3
Member (3 bit)
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Posts: 4
I certainly don't distrust PCMech. It has done me far too much good over the years. However it might interest you to know that, while the other BCC addresses in this spam email were of the format pcmech@example.com, or pcmech1@mydomain.net, or pcmechanic2@whatever.info... my email address is quite different. As with all of my registration emails, it is not only named per-site and used ONLY with PCMech, but also has a random key at the end of it, used specifically to avoid this type of spam.

It looks something like pcmech.com.jw92nf1l@mydomain.com. I'm not arguing that someone may have easily gleaned my email from another source without PCMech's help, but I will say that this is possibly the first "random", or "keyword-targeted spam" I've ever gotten since I started using this registration email scheme. So that's why it concerns me. Either the spammer pulled my email from somewhere, be it a past mass-email, or otherwise, OR their spam script was somehow lucky enough to guess the string which in my above example is "jw92nf1l".
mmseng is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-20-2010, 11:04 PM   #4
Member (3 bit)
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Posts: 4
To whoeever is moderating this thread, sorry for all the double posts, I just saw the message about moderation when posting the last reply. The auto-redirect from that message page is far to quick for me to read that, so I wasn't aware before posting the duplicate replies.
mmseng is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-21-2010, 12:32 AM   #5
glc
Forum Administrator
Staff
Premium Member
 
glc's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2000
Location: Joplin MO
Posts: 37,776
No problem - something was causing them to get caught in the spam filter. Original post approved, dupes deleted.
glc is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Still Need Help? Type Your Keywords Here:


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:29 PM.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2012, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
SEO by vBSEO 3.6.0 PL2