Go Back   PCMech Forums > PCMech Services and Support > Site and Forum Issues

Need Some Help? Type Your Keywords Here:

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 06-20-2012, 04:35 PM   #1
Member (10 bit)
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 779
java virus on pcmech

anti virus reporting virus here ? the forum is hacked ?

__________________
E8500@4Ghz/HD 6870/4 gb ddr2 800/ P5Q Pro/WD caviar Black 750GB/Corsair tx 750W/ SUMO 5115/SAMSUNG 2333SW lcd/win7 64bit home premium.
id10x is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-21-2012, 01:13 AM   #2
Professional Cow Tipper
 
juppy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Enid, OK, U.S.A.
Posts: 2,874
I use Avast as well, but I haven't got that alert yet. That's not to say it's absolutely false though, because quite awhile back I had Avast telling me something was wrong here, which Drisley eventually found and took care of, but there were very few others that got that alert at that time. Even some others that used Avast weren't getting it on a regular basis like I was.

I do wonder if Avast is falsing here lately though, because I've used the site newsmap.jp for a long time when I want to see current news items, and for the past week or two that site's been making Avast show a javascript error as well.
__________________
Excellent guess, Kreskin! Wrong...but excellent.
*quote from Space Quest 6*
juppy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-21-2012, 07:42 AM   #3
PCMech Founder
Staff
 
drisley's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 1999
Location: Tampa, FL
Posts: 1,980
Send a message via ICQ to drisley
Would be helpful to get some more reports on this, and the conditions which make it happen. Otherwise, it'd be like chasing a ghost.
drisley is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-22-2012, 01:30 AM   #4
Professional Cow Tipper
 
juppy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Enid, OK, U.S.A.
Posts: 2,874
Well, I'm getting hit with them tonight too, Dris. As for the conditions, it just seems to be with every page that opens. For instance, one of the pages that Avast is saying is infected just shows the exact address of this thread without the "#post1554961" on it, but at the end it has "|>{gzip}" (without the quotes, of course). It lists the infection on all of these as HTML: Script-inf.

Same as when I used the "New Posts" link to search for new posts....it gave me that same "HTML: Script-inf" infection at http://www.pcmech.com/forum/search.php?searchid=2731868|>{gzip}

The only other one I can find an address of shows that Avast's network shield blocked a connection at http://www.js-scripts.com//room.php?...cb020766610830.

I don't know if any of this helps you or not, but it's all the info I can find in Avast. And like I said, the only particular "trigger", if you will, seems to be loading any page.
juppy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-22-2012, 07:54 AM   #5
PCMech Founder
Staff
 
drisley's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 1999
Location: Tampa, FL
Posts: 1,980
Send a message via ICQ to drisley
Just updated the boards with a new patch that was released a few days ago. Let me know if you guys notice any difference.
drisley is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-22-2012, 08:46 AM   #6
Member (6 bit)
 
Join Date: May 2012
Posts: 47
Avast blocked me yesterday, Firefox, windows 7.

Tried going to the home page (not in the forums) and it wouldnt let me do that either. Ill try again tonight when i get back home
Patman03SprCrw is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-23-2012, 12:21 AM   #7
Professional Cow Tipper
 
juppy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Enid, OK, U.S.A.
Posts: 2,874
Still getting hit on every page just like yesterday.
juppy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-23-2012, 12:49 AM   #8
glc
Forum Administrator
Staff
Premium Member
 
glc's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2000
Location: Joplin MO
Posts: 41,340
I just submitted the site to a couple online security scanners, and they both came back clean. I'd have to say that Avast is giving you guys a false positive.
glc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-24-2012, 01:43 AM   #9
Professional Cow Tipper
 
juppy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Enid, OK, U.S.A.
Posts: 2,874
Possibly, glc. One of the main ones I keep getting hit with is a script line toward the bottom of every page's source code that goes to a js-scripts.com. I put one of those addresses directly in my browser (the one I used was http://www.js-scripts.com/gate.php?a=387 ) and Avast screams at me. The same address on a couple of link scanners showed it as clean. Guess I'll try submitting a false positive report to Avast and see what happens.
juppy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-24-2012, 09:01 AM   #10
Member (9 bit)
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Ft Lauderdale, Florida, US
Posts: 326
AVG Threat Labs | Safety Ratings | Web Site ReportsGoogle Safe Browsing Diagnostic
Quote:
What is the current listing status for pcmech.com?

This site is not currently listed as suspicious.
...

What is the current listing status for js-script.com?

This site is not currently listed as suspicious.
...
__________________
Doc
____________http://www.microsoft.com/security____________
\____________________ ____.-.____ ____________________/
\_____________\ -._)!(_.- /_____________/
\_______\. ~\ /~ ./_______/
\_______/
SpywareDr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-25-2012, 09:11 AM   #11
PCMech Founder
Staff
 
drisley's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 1999
Location: Tampa, FL
Posts: 1,980
Send a message via ICQ to drisley
I don't know what that js-scripts reference was. I removed it. Let me know if that handles it for you guys.
drisley is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-25-2012, 06:58 PM   #12
Member (6 bit)
 
Join Date: May 2012
Posts: 47
working for me with Avast now.... Thanks
Patman03SprCrw is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-26-2012, 01:19 AM   #13
Professional Cow Tipper
 
juppy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Enid, OK, U.S.A.
Posts: 2,874
That seems to have fixed it, dris. Thank you.
juppy is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Still Need Help? Type Your Keywords Here:


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:21 PM.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2013, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
SEO by vBSEO 3.6.1