|
|||||||
![]() |
|
|
LinkBack | Thread Tools | Search this Thread | Rate Thread | Display Modes |
|
|
#1 |
|
Member (5 bit)
Join Date: Jul 2002
Posts: 30
|
Is this legit?
link removed
WindowsXP Pro for $50?! I mean... I know OEM is cheaper... but $50? Does anyone know if that site is legitimate? Last edited by Statica; 07-13-2004 at 07:38 AM. |
|
|
|
|
#2 | |
|
Member (11 bit)
|
Quote:
no its not... Its most likely pirated software. Thanx wedor for the headsup
__________________
Computer: 486 Ram: 8 MB CD Rom: None OS: Windows 3.1 Last edited by Statica; 07-13-2004 at 07:53 AM. |
|
|
|
|
|
#3 |
|
Member (5 bit)
Join Date: Jul 2002
Posts: 30
|
lol, I figured as much. Ahhh well :-)
|
|
|
|
|
#4 |
|
Member (11 bit)
Join Date: Mar 1999
Posts: 1,801
|
A couple of interesting disclaimers, like this one,
"You get the CD(s) with the software in an envelope. You also get the activation key, serial number or CD key necessary to activate the software. Note, that you will not be able to register the software with the manufacturer and get technical support." I wonder if by register they mean activate as well... And this little odd note, "There is no catch - the software versions that we sell are OEM (Original Equipment Manufacturer) which means you will receive the installation CDs only (they do not come in their original retail packing and do not include the manual). We do guarantee that all programs are the 100% full working retail versions - no demos or academic versions. When you order, you will receive all materials required for a complete installation - or your money back. Why pay hundreds of dollars more when you can get exactly the same product but much cheaper? You don't have to pay that much for the fancy box and manuals. This software is recognized as a backup software." OEM is NOT retail software, there is also a note saying this can't be resold which means it may be NFR (Not For Resale) software which is not supposed to be sold. You could always just ask Microsoft if they are legit, if they are you get a great bargain, if not... |
|
|
|
|
#5 | |
|
Member (11 bit)
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: BC, Canada
Posts: 1,054
|
Quote:
|
|
|
|
|
|
#6 |
|
Lest we forget
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Ontario, Canada
Posts: 1,870
|
I got my windows OEM very cheap at ~150$CDN, there is no way that is legit at 50$
__________________
redqueen: Antec Sonata, Pentium-D 2.5GHz, MSI G31M3-L, 2GB ram, 320 GB HDD, OpenBSD hal9000: Lenovo T61, 2GB ram, 120 GB HDD, FreeBSD |
|
|
|
|
#7 |
|
Member (12 bit)
Join Date: Nov 1999
Location: San Francisco
Posts: 2,437
|
I never heard of Windows XP Pro 2002! At best you are going to recieve counterfeit merchandise. But probably they'll just rob your money.
But XP Pro can be done for $50 from someone sitting on a volume license. I have reported these bums to the SBA! These kinds of guys make it hard on the legit discounters.
__________________
E-Mail: TheGreatRaymond@sbcglobal.net Put from PCMech BBS in subject line to avoid getting deleted as spam! |
|
|
|
|
#8 |
|
brewer, mostly...
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Laying on the floor, in the brewery
Posts: 1,315
|
It's a lot easier just to get to know someone who works there and can shop at the Microsoft store...
something like 1/5 retail. -Kev
__________________
Symantec-free zone. To stay malware free: AVG antivirus/antispyware, Malwarebytes anti malware, Commodo Pro free firewall, ccleaner, Windows updates. or.... just install Linux Too many computers in this house to list. They are all my builds, some AMD some Intel... |
|
|
|
|
#9 |
|
Member (11 bit)
Join Date: Mar 1999
Posts: 1,801
|
IIRC the Microsoft employees are not allowed to legally resell software so that is not a valid option.
|
|
|
|
|
#10 |
|
Member (10 bit)
Premium Member
Join Date: Feb 2001
Location: Burb of Detroit, Mi
Posts: 874
|
Adobe Photoshop 7.0 (Current Version is 8.0; however, Adobe calls it CS) for $60.00, this to me seems unethical selling an outdated piece of software that surely will get no support from Adobe. Besides unethical, is selling software that isn't the current version legal?
__________________
Life is a Fig Newton of Your Imagination! |
|
|
|
|
#11 |
|
Member (11 bit)
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Shakopee MN
Posts: 1,293
|
As long as you are selling all parts that are original (ie media and install keys/license) and are uninstalling them from your PC then sure you can sell older versions and be legal. This would happen when you sell a used and software loaded PC for example
As to ethical - I do not see a problem here either, unless the product is being represented as the current version of course.
__________________
Never Argue With An Idiot. They'll Drag You Down To Their Level And Then Beat You With Experience. |
|
|
|
|
#12 |
|
Member (10 bit)
Premium Member
Join Date: Feb 2001
Location: Burb of Detroit, Mi
Posts: 874
|
To me they seem to be trying in passing Adobe Photoshop 7.0 off as the current version, thus making it unethical in my book.
|
|
|
|
|
#13 |
|
Folding For PCMech
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: San Dimas, CA
Posts: 3,136
|
The argument of whether or not they are trying to pass off a presvious version as the latest and the morality of it is irrelevant, because it's all pirated anyways. And to me, that's a bigger reason to think of something as unethical, than what version of the software they are pushing.
|
|
|
|
|
#14 |
|
Member (11 bit)
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: BC, Canada
Posts: 1,054
|
Someone should order something (cheap) from them, just to see if it really is in fact pirated.
|
|
|
|
|
#15 |
|
Member (11 bit)
Join Date: Mar 1999
Posts: 1,801
|
Feel free...
|
|
|
|
|
#16 |
|
Member (7 bit)
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 106
|
ha yeah i'm not gonna spend my money on something that 1) could be outdated 2) could be pirated 3) will most likely be half assed. stay away from that if i were you.
|
|
|
|
|
#17 |
|
Member (11 bit)
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: BC, Canada
Posts: 1,054
|
'Can't get the link to work anymore anyway...
|
|
|
|
|
#18 | |
|
Banned
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Sydney, Australia
Posts: 120
|
Quote:
I got the essentially the same sort of thing, AU$150, therefore at bare minumum, it should be US$75 or so...This was also face to face in a reputable store. consider that a couple of hundred people paying $50 for what could be a coaster, is reward enough for spending a few hours on MS Frontpage creating a slick website... |
|
|
|
|
|
#19 | |
|
Banned
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Sydney, Australia
Posts: 120
|
Quote:
me either...musn't have spend too long in front of Frontpage then if he struggles with basics...
|
|
|
|
|
|
#20 |
|
Member (11 bit)
Join Date: Mar 1999
Posts: 1,801
|
It's working now, could have just been a web outage.
I saw another good one, Windows Server Enterprise for $60, it's listed at MS for $3999. |
|
|
|
|
#21 |
|
Banned
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 350
|
Who cares. Whats the link to server enterprise? 2k server is begining to suck.
|
|
|
|
|
#22 |
|
Premium Member
Join Date: Jun 1999
Posts: 9,231
|
Ok folks, we've established that this site is NOT selling legit software, am closing the thread and the link to it not wanting to give the site more traffic of people who are going to buy more software or lose any money.
|
|
|
![]() |
| Bookmarks |
| Thread Tools | Search this Thread |
| Display Modes | Rate This Thread |
|
|