Go Back   PCMech Forums > Help & Discussion > Software Discussion & Support

Need Some Help? Type Your Keywords Here:

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 10-18-2004, 12:32 AM   #1
Member (9 bit)
 
lpc300's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Posts: 480
Seem Like a Scam?

Hi all,

I hope that this is appropriate to post. I was helping a friend look for components for a system that I am going to build. We were looking for the best prices on WinXP Pro and came across this when looking at pricewatch . My thought is that when something seems too good to be true, it usually is. Any ideas on whether this is for real? I don't want to purchase something that has already been activated, is warez or some other illegal software, or give credit card info to some unscrupulous company.

Thanks in advance.

If this is an inappropriate post, please delete it and appologies in advance.
lpc300 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-18-2004, 06:18 AM   #2
Telcom Tech
 
ktkendall's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Western, Pa.
Posts: 5,409
According to the "Why So Cheap", thing on the on the side it is legit OEM version of the software. I buy OEM and it works fine. The only thing is that usually you are supposed to buy a peice of system hardware to qualify for purchasing OEM versions of Microsoft software, so perhaps this outfit has found a legal way around that...
__________________
If it ain't broke, "TWEAK IT"
ktkendall is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-18-2004, 08:10 AM   #3
Staff
Premium Member
 
rjfvillarosa's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Cardiff, Wales. UK
Posts: 6,105
Most of this software are East European bootlegs, you cannot register the software with the manufacturer and all updates must be obtained from the people who supplied the software. I was given a copy of XP pro that a customer of mine bought for $10 in Iraq, whilst serving there with the US forces. He bought it from a pure fun/interest point of view, I have opened the CD and looked at the files everything seems to be there but as to wether it would work or not I do not know and I will never find out because I will not install it, it is just a novelty item to me. If I were you I would not consider buying that software, it is almost guaranteed to be pirated and if anything goes wrong you will have no recourse with the supplier and certainly no help from the manufacturer, you could even find yourself on the wrong side of the law for attempting to use illegal software. There are plenty of legitamate copies of XP home out there for about $85, try www.globe2000.com, I just bought a copy of XP home for $91 with free shipping, their idea of purchasing a piece of hardware to go with it is to give you a free cellphone antenna.
rjfvillarosa is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-18-2004, 09:44 AM   #4
glc
Forum Administrator
Staff
Premium Member
 
glc's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2000
Location: Joplin MO
Posts: 37,777
http://best-xp-software.biz/faq.php

Excerpts:

This software is recognized as a backup software.

Be aware that you will not be able to register the software with the manufacturer. Some of these products cannot be updated on-line.

You get the CD(s) with the software in an envelope. You also get the activation key, serial number or CD key necessary to activate the software.

The software is shipped from Eastern Europe.

-------------------------------------

This is pirated software on CD-R.

The whois info on that domain is something that would scare me away from doing any business with that "company".

http://www.whois.biz/whois.cgi?TLD=b...h=Submit+Query

Registrant Email webmaster@hot-fetish-porno-pics.com

Administrative Contact Organization bondage cult

Last edited by glc; 10-18-2004 at 09:49 AM.
glc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-19-2004, 02:02 AM   #5
Member (9 bit)
 
lpc300's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Posts: 480
I forgot to check whois.biz (the original post was at nearly 3 AM and I was a little punchy). OH MY GOSH! That stuff is scary! Figured it was pirated...when I saw Eastern Europe, I kinda knew. My friend wanted to order it. Glad I was skeptical and said no. Rather buy real OEM or retail than give money to the bondage/porn industry.
lpc300 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-21-2004, 10:07 PM   #6
Member (8 bit)
 
jon_e_33's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Montana
Posts: 163
As far as software goes, I say just buy it from some place that you know and can trust, such as Newegg.com. I mean spend the 30 bucks and be legal.
jon_e_33 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Still Need Help? Type Your Keywords Here:


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:52 PM.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2012, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
SEO by vBSEO 3.6.0 PL2