Go Back   PCMech Forums > Help & Discussion > Software Discussion & Support

Need Some Help? Type Your Keywords Here:

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 01-13-2006, 01:29 PM   #1
Member (4 bit)
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 15
thefreecountry.com

Does anybody know if all the free programs on http://www.thefreecountry.com is legit, harmless and truly functional? It seems incredible to me that anyone would give all this stuff away without some kind of catch.
perola is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-13-2006, 07:21 PM   #2
Member (9 bit)
 
Join Date: May 1999
Location: kitchener, Ontario
Posts: 364
I've used that page many times, as its a great resource for free programming tools, among other things. A lot of the stuff they have on there is open source but all of it is legitimate freeware.

There is actually a lot of excellent free programs out there but sometimes you have to do a bit of digging. TheFreeCountry.com is a great place to start.
rios__ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-14-2006, 03:07 AM   #3
Member (9 bit)
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 392
Quote:
Originally Posted by perola
Does anybody know if all the free programs on http://www.thefreecountry.com is legit, harmless and truly functional? It seems incredible to me that anyone would give all this stuff away without some kind of catch.

to all newcomers:
in a far away galaxy, long time ago; almost all software were free including source code, until greedy SOBs & idiots started to patent & plagiarize softwares as though they invented them.
seriously, softwares on "thefreecountry" are the reminds of once a great concept: open source/GNU project. sure some commercial softwares are there, like Visual C++ and Borland C++ compiler, but some codes/program are in existence long time ago.
__________________
words to live by:
others don't know, I know.
others know, I know more.
others know more, I excel.
one shouldnt read this far; above, is meant as an encouragement, translated from a Chinese Proverb.
"He who angers you conquers you." : Elizabeth Kenny

Last edited by alfie2; 01-14-2006 at 03:17 AM.
alfie2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Still Need Help? Type Your Keywords Here:


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:44 PM.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2012, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
SEO by vBSEO 3.6.0 PL2