|
|||||||
![]() |
|
|
LinkBack | Thread Tools | Search this Thread | Rate Thread | Display Modes |
|
|
#1 |
|
Member (4 bit)
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 10
|
Ok so all of a sudden my computer restarted on me..and when booted back up i got this pop up from gamegain saying i did something illegal and all this stuff. Now i'm not gonna lie, this has scared me senseless and i am extremeley worried. After that happened i reformatted my hard drive and it was gone. I have never seen nor have i ever used this program before in my life. Can someone please help me out...can anything happen?..I looked it up and its only an $11 program but i'm still extremely scared. So yeah if anyone can help me out it would be much appreciated
|
|
|
|
|
|
#2 |
|
Dark
|
did you do anything illegal??
do you remember the message and did it look professional? i think you were attacked by a virus, cause the pc would'nt restart. next time it happens run an Anti-Virus and run some Anti-spyware programs before you reformat.
__________________
1. Intel Core2Duo 3Ghz|Asus P5K Deluxe Wifi|4GB DDR2 800Mhz| Seagate 500GB*2| Evga 8800GTX 768MB| Antec SonataII case w/ 550W TruePower PSU|XP Pro 2. AMD Athlon 64 3500|Asus A8N-sli deluxe|2GB DDR ram|Maxtor 250GB HDD|ASUS NVIDIA 6800 256MB|antec sonataII case w/ 450W PSU|XP home |
|
|
|
|
|
#3 | |
|
Member (4 bit)
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 10
|
Quote:
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
#4 |
|
Premium Member
Join Date: Jun 1999
Posts: 9,231
|
Firstly, just because a program is not by Microsoft or Adobe (incidentally Adobe and Macromedia are the same now) or because it's only a $11 program does NOT mean that you are free to pirate copyrighted material. I suggest you either pay for the software or stop using it. This forum will not help you with pirated material.
To stop the popup after UNinstalling the program - this has been posted on the forum before: http://forum.pcmech.com/showthread.php?t=112877 |
|
|
|
|
|
#5 |
|
Member (4 bit)
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 10
|
i never downloaded it..and i never wanted to pirate it. It just appeared. I just wanted to know if anything would happen...i'm completely breaking down from all this worrying heh...thanks for the link though
|
|
|
|
|
|
#6 |
|
Wx geek
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Indiana
Posts: 6,638
|
Were you even interested in the program? Sounds like some ad-aware trying to trick you into buying that product - or steal your idenity.
__________________
"It is the way of man to make monsters and it is the nature of monsters to destroy their makers." |
|
|
|
|
|
#7 | |
|
Member (4 bit)
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 10
|
Quote:
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
#8 |
|
Dark
|
if i were you i would'nt buy it. anyway it works fine now right??
|
|
|
|
|
|
#9 |
|
Member (4 bit)
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 10
|
no... i completely got rid of it...after that happened i reformatted my hard drive so its all gone
|
|
|
|
|
|
#10 |
|
Member (4 bit)
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 10
|
here the pic from the other thread which is basically the same thing
http://forum.pcmech.com/attachment.p...7&d=1097298955 I was looking on it...and if it was serious, wouldn't they have said my ISP..rather than just saying they obtained it? If they can display my IP address which is easy to figure out...why not show my ISP too? I dunno if this is fake..if its real..i dunno what to do...but in the end the safest thing to do would be to just buy it i guess |
|
|
|
|
|
#11 |
|
Wx geek
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Indiana
Posts: 6,638
|
Well if you got rid of it and it's gone, don't worry about it. Especially if you've never heard of it before. The name itself sounds like ad/spy-ware.
|
|
|
|
|
|
#12 |
|
Member (4 bit)
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 10
|
well thats kinda comforting heh...but the thing is..is that it is an actual program...from pgware.com ...thats where i found it when i researched it. I'm just completely scared senseless because i don't wanna get charged or anything like that
|
|
|
|
|
|
#13 |
|
Served with Pride
Staff
Premium Member
|
I just checked it out on Google. Looks like a very legit operation PGWare.com. A free trial is downloadable at Snapfiles.com and it does sell for $11.99. Sure sounds like someone got caught with their hand in the cookie jar.
http://www.snapfiles.com/get/gamegain.html |
|
|
|
|
|
#14 |
|
Premium Member
Join Date: Jun 1999
Posts: 9,231
|
If you didnt install it, but yet you were able to remove it (and keep in mind that this is not a rogue piece of software that forces itself in), then you should be looking around at who could've installed it on your system.
|
|
|
|
|
|
#15 | |
|
Member (4 bit)
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 10
|
Quote:
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
#16 |
|
Dark
|
tell your friend never to download anything if he dosent know what it is
|
|
|
|
|
|
#17 |
|
Member (11 bit)
Join Date: Jul 2002
Posts: 1,729
|
Are we sure that the trial version doesn't pop up these threats after it has expired to try and extort $11 by scaring users?
__________________
Better to use a Mac and be THOUGHT a fool, than to use Windows and REMOVE ALL DOUBT |
|
|
|
|
|
#18 |
|
Premium Member
Join Date: Jun 1999
Posts: 9,231
|
It's shareware, and its not extortion. The idea of shareware is that you TRY it for whatever number of days and if you still have it installed after the trial period has expired you need to remove it.
|
|
|
|
|
|
#19 |
|
Member (9 bit)
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 422
|
Conclusion:dont let your friend/s use your pc
j
__________________
To err is human--and to blame it on a computer is even more so...
|
|
|
|
|
|
#20 |
|
Member (11 bit)
Join Date: May 2000
Location: PA USA
Posts: 1,040
|
I will loan you my toothbrush but not my PC.
trulad
__________________
#1 HP 5310 500Hard Drive 350gb.Toshiba external back-up 4gb. Ram Win.7 Professional 64bit. #2 Sony Lap Top 500 gb. hard drive 3.0ghz AMD Athlon 4gb Ram Win.7 Home Premium 64 bit |
|
|
|
|
|
#21 | |
|
Member (11 bit)
Join Date: Jul 2002
Posts: 1,729
|
Quote:
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
#22 | |
|
Member (4 bit)
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 10
|
Quote:
I just wanna say thanks to the guys that have helped me in this crisis heh. |
|
|
|
|
|
|
#23 | |
|
Professional gadfly
|
Quote:
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
#24 | |
|
Member (4 bit)
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 10
|
Quote:
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
#25 |
|
Member (10 bit)
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 560
|
That's one hell of a marketing scheme.
|
|
|
|
![]() |
| Bookmarks |
| Thread Tools | Search this Thread |
| Display Modes | Rate This Thread |
|
|