Go Back   PCMech Forums > Help & Discussion > Software Discussion & Support

Need Some Help? Type Your Keywords Here:

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 03-14-2007, 08:45 PM   #1
Professional Cow Tipper
 
juppy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Enid, OK, U.S.A.
Posts: 2,859
Any opinions on this site?

Hi!

I just need to see if anyone knows anything about this website.

www.oem-gallery.com

My brother is looking to find an older/cheaper version of Corel Draw that he can use to edit and/or update drawings that he uses at work. He's not going to be using many of the features and that's why he can't justify spending $330 on the newest version of Corel Draw.....but it has to be that program because that's what they have to use at his job to create them in the first place. He was looking for something around Corel Draw 11 or 12, and this site has them ranging from $59 to $89, but I just wasn't sure about whether it's a trusted site or not. I had never heard of it and I didn't find much in their FAQ that made me think any better of them. And if this ISN'T a good site, does anybody know of a good site to pick up a cheaper version of this program? Perferrably under $100. Thanks.
__________________
Excellent guess, Kreskin! Wrong...but excellent.
*quote from Space Quest 6*
juppy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-14-2007, 09:48 PM   #2
Computing Professor
Staff
Premium Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Posts: 11,718
A Google for the site turned up this : http://forums.pcpitstop.com/index.php?showtopic=135396

and this : http://www.codecomments.com/archive3...-2-700990.html


Only a few other references to the site on Google turned up.

Quote:
In order to show you the most relevant results, we have omitted some entries very similar to the 5 already displayed.
If you like, you can repeat the search with the omitted results included.
I"ll give them the benefit of the doubt and say that the cut-price Viagra store isn't their doing but at best that's a site with no track record.

Will one of the copies from these guys do for your brother ? http://www.softwareoutlet.com/Merchant2/merchant.mvc?
__________________
Asus M4A77D, 64 X2 6000+, 4 GB Corsair DDR2 800 ram, Radeon 5770.
pam123 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-14-2007, 10:24 PM   #3
Member (11 bit)
 
sgtspector's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Mt. Hope, NY
Posts: 1,213
Send a message via AIM to sgtspector
Once in a while i still visit the traveling comouter show when it comes around looking for just such a bargain. I don't know if that's an option for you but I thought I'd mention it.
__________________
Asus P5ND2-SLi-Deluxe Mobo, Intel 3.0ghz P4 w/ht, 2 GB CORSAIR 667 DDR2, 1 GB Ultra DDR2 533 mhz PC4200 ram, BFGTech Nvidia 6600 GT OC SLi video card, WD 4000KS OEM SATA II HDD, Seagate 320gb SATA II HDD 7200rpm, WD 320 gb SATA II HDD, Creative Soundblaster Audigy Platinum, Sony DRU 720 DVD-RW, LG GCE8240B CD-RW, Maddog Multimedia 500w modular PSU & WinXP Pro SP2, Samsung BF960 19" LCD.
sgtspector is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-15-2007, 12:20 AM   #4
Professional Cow Tipper
 
juppy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Enid, OK, U.S.A.
Posts: 2,859
Thanks for the quick responses!

sgtspector > I appreciate you bringing up that option but I don't think we ever get any of those traveling computer shows here. Once in a blue moon they'll have an audio/video/computer show in Oklahoma City but that's 100 miles from me. We're not a big enough city to rate a show like that (population, roughly 45,000). Thanks for the suggestion anyway though!

pam123 > Yeah, I did some Googling on it too and things like you came up with are about all I came up with when I tried it too. Most of 'em seemed to be not so favorable. I wasn't too thrilled with his idea of buying from them either because, for one, it says the software ships from Eastern Europe. To me, that sounds like they're trying to get around some sort of U.S. law to sell something illegal. I didn't care for the fact that it didn't have any of those "Hacker safe" or "Verisign" insignias like you see on legit sites either. Do you know that other site you linked at the last of your post is okay to buy from? If so, yeah, that'd probably be fine with him. I have to ask though, because frankly I've never heard of that site either. I'm just basically trying to keep him legal and not let him get screwed over by some scam site.

Any other opinions still welcome.

Last edited by juppy; 03-15-2007 at 12:25 AM.
juppy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-15-2007, 06:25 AM   #5
glc
Forum Administrator
Staff
Premium Member
 
glc's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2000
Location: Joplin MO
Posts: 37,777
Eastern Europe? That's a danger flag right there. You are buying downloads or burned copies, even though it's old software that's piracy. He won't be legal.

Softwareoutlet.com is legitimate. Their stuff is in the original packages, it's all overstock/closeout/liquidation type stuff. Check out their FAQ's - I'm satisfied they are legit.
glc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-15-2007, 07:34 AM   #6
Computing Professor
Staff
Premium Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Posts: 11,718
I've bought from Softwareoutlet several times they're legit.
pam123 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-15-2007, 01:35 PM   #7
Professional Cow Tipper
 
juppy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Enid, OK, U.S.A.
Posts: 2,859
Quote:
Originally Posted by glc
Eastern Europe? That's a danger flag right there. You are buying downloads or burned copies, even though it's old software that's piracy. He won't be legal.
That's kinda what I figured too, g. That was one of the main reasons I was skeptical about them.

Since you two think that other site is legit though, that's good enough for me. Softwareoutlet it is then. I'll pass their address on to him. Thanks for the info!
juppy is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Still Need Help? Type Your Keywords Here:


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Asus' web site... pam123 Internet, Web Applications, & The Cloud 7 06-03-2006 07:28 AM
Intel chip info site FalvinP Computer Hardware 4 06-02-2006 04:25 PM
How to trust a site? ITlover Networking & Online Security 2 04-06-2006 03:01 AM
Running a web site Reedimus General Discussion 0 03-29-2003 02:41 PM
How to increase traffic on a site? Parangles Internet, Web Applications, & The Cloud 7 03-24-2002 04:14 PM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:44 PM.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2012, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
SEO by vBSEO 3.6.0 PL2