Go Back   PCMech Forums > Help & Discussion > Software Discussion & Support

Need Some Help? Type Your Keywords Here:

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 09-30-2007, 01:41 PM   #1
Member (8 bit)
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 188
This a scam?

Hey I recently found this from my schools web site in the "classifieds" section. Is a deal for students only and it limited to one student account. Do you think this is a scam? It be really nice to get he software for only 60 bucks.

http://www.theultimatesteal.com/home.asp
kid4christ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-30-2007, 02:07 PM   #2
Member (5 bit)
 
daboggeyman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 21
If it,s to good to be true then it probably is. You will need to be the judge.
daboggeyman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-30-2007, 03:29 PM   #3
Member (11 bit)
 
Lespaul20's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Iowa
Posts: 1,652
It's a promotional offer from Microsoft. So it's legit.
__________________
LP
Lespaul20 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-30-2007, 03:38 PM   #4
Member (14 bit)
Premium Member
 
TwoRails's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: The Great NorthWest
Posts: 12,594
I didn't look... is it on MS's site?
TwoRails is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-30-2007, 04:08 PM   #6
Member (14 bit)
Premium Member
 
TwoRails's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: The Great NorthWest
Posts: 12,594
Good links! You do have to provide proof of being a student. It's not clear if you have to be a "university" as it states in one area, or a student in a "educational institution" as it states in a different part.

I've seen some academic software where the restrictions are less and "home study" is included. Too bad that doesn't count here
TwoRails is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-30-2007, 04:16 PM   #7
Member (11 bit)
 
Lespaul20's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Iowa
Posts: 1,652
Yeah.
Quote:
The following conditions serve to define student eligibility for the Promotion:

1. Individual must possess a valid e-mail address at a U.S. educational institution which contains the domain suffix .edu; AND

2. Individual must be a student at a U.S. educational institution and must be actively enrolled in at least 0.5 course credit and be able to provide proof of enrollment upon request.
Lespaul20 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-30-2007, 04:45 PM   #8
Member (14 bit)
Premium Member
 
TwoRails's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: The Great NorthWest
Posts: 12,594
It also says:

Quote:
All eligible university students are entitled to make a purchase from the promotion site as described further below.
So do 2 year college students get the deal? I'd imagine they do. But I'd also imagine the deal(s) are in the schools book stores, too..
TwoRails is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-30-2007, 05:42 PM   #9
Member (11 bit)
 
Lespaul20's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Iowa
Posts: 1,652
I think you just need an E-mail with the .edu suffix.

My schools book store only has Standard and Professional Plus for $60 and $70 respectively.
Lespaul20 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-30-2007, 08:34 PM   #10
Gremlin Overlord
 
Jaggannath's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Australia
Posts: 2,382
It's generally a deal provided by Microsoft to a company/institution that has paid for a certain number of corporate licences to the software... I suppose they figure getting the extra money is better than the students using shared resources and them getting none.
Jaggannath is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-30-2007, 10:10 PM   #11
Member (14 bit)
Premium Member
 
TwoRails's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: The Great NorthWest
Posts: 12,594
That and they build a stronger customer base, too. Have MS product now (as apposed to WordPerfect for example) and they will upgrade and or buy the same product again in the future. Personally, I'm a WordPerfect fan and bought their suite the last time I took classes and the price diff was fantastic from full retail...
TwoRails is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-30-2007, 10:24 PM   #12
Member (11 bit)
 
Lespaul20's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Iowa
Posts: 1,652
Quote:
Originally Posted by TwoRails
That and they build a stronger customer base, too. Have MS product now (as apposed to WordPerfect for example) and they will upgrade and or buy the same product again in the future. Personally, I'm a WordPerfect fan and bought their suite the last time I took classes and the price diff was fantastic from full retail...
I think that probably their primary objective. Openoffice has work pretty good for me.
Lespaul20 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-01-2007, 11:58 AM   #13
Member (8 bit)
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 188
Now here is my next question. If I get this, is there limitations to the software? Can I put this on more than one cmoputer? My familey has 4 computers all togther lol. Can you register this on more than one comp as long as its withen the familey or something like that? I can't find this info on there site.
kid4christ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-01-2007, 12:07 PM   #14
Member (11 bit)
 
Lespaul20's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Iowa
Posts: 1,652
Quote:
Originally Posted by kid4christ
Now here is my next question. If I get this, is there limitations to the software? Can I put this on more than one cmoputer? My familey has 4 computers all togther lol. Can you register this on more than one comp as long as its withen the familey or something like that? I can't find this info on there site.
Unless the EULA has changed since the previous versions, you can install it only on one PC and one Laptop of the same owner.

Edit: I guess the Student Home version is different. You can install it on up to 3 devices. But the Ultimate is like I stated above.

I would guess that the Ultimate EULA applies in this situation.

Last edited by Lespaul20; 10-01-2007 at 12:20 PM.
Lespaul20 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-01-2007, 01:11 PM   #15
 
hitchface's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Alberta, Canada
Posts: 1,383
I am personally down with Openoffice. I saw that deal a while ago, but it drives me nuts how a lot of this stuff is US only. Can't the north and south be friends?

"Is it the North or the South side?" "No it is not!"
__________________
TFH, paraphrased:

the bultin brner wouldnt evn boot it a usb burner woud but ten it gaeve an eror after i typed teh prduct key. i dont no waht it was it was a missng file, i fergt waht ti was but ti loked imporant can any1 help PLZ?!

Check out PCP! (that's PCProfiles in case you thought I was on angel dust) http://www.pcprofiles.com/p/hitchface
hitchface is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-02-2007, 10:04 AM   #16
Member (8 bit)
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 188
So basically I get two licenses? Because you said I can put one PC and one Lab top? I wanted to put one on my computer and one on the family computer so my brother can use it for work. Is there a web page I can go to to view the license for MS Ultimate?
kid4christ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-02-2007, 10:10 AM   #17
Member (11 bit)
 
sdkfz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Shakopee MN
Posts: 1,293
Quote:
Originally Posted by kid4christ
Is there a web page I can go to to view the license for MS Ultimate?
http://office.microsoft.com/en-us/pr...103171033.aspx
__________________
Never Argue With An Idiot. They'll Drag You Down To Their Level And Then Beat You With Experience.
sdkfz is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Still Need Help? Type Your Keywords Here:


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Nigerian Scam Investigator Scam Stuey General Discussion 3 08-27-2007 10:23 AM
Microsoft Scam? catacon General Discussion 17 12-22-2005 11:02 AM
eBay scam pc_noob General Discussion 8 11-05-2005 08:50 PM
Something smells phishy here, possible PayPal scam TimPoet General Discussion 13 12-07-2004 02:49 PM
Another Russian Bank Scam, New Exploit for MS04-020 the mul Networking & Online Security 0 07-17-2004 02:58 PM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:30 PM.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2012, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
SEO by vBSEO 3.6.0 PL2