Go Back   PCMech Forums > Help & Discussion > Software Discussion & Support

Need Some Help? Type Your Keywords Here:

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 07-15-2009, 03:32 PM   #1
Member (3 bit)
 
Dominofx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Knoxville, TN 37914
Posts: 6
Question OEM software sites - legal or not?

Are these OEM software sites legal? Here is an example of one of the links I get weekly in email .. www.powerwebsoft.net

Thanks

Jim
Dominofx is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-15-2009, 06:16 PM   #2
Barefoot on the Moon!
Staff
Premium Member
 
Force Flow's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Northeastern USA
Posts: 13,385
There's next to nothing that comes up in a google search, and the whois info is very suspicious

http://whois.domaintools.com/powerwebsoft.net


I'd say no. If you want to purchase something, go for a known legitimate source.
__________________
There are two secrets to staying young, being happy, and achieving success. You have to laugh and find humor every day, and you have to have a dream.
Force Flow is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-15-2009, 06:17 PM   #3
glc
Forum Administrator
Staff
Premium Member
 
glc's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2000
Location: Joplin MO
Posts: 37,786
After reviewing what Force found out - nope, that stuff is all pirated. It's download only and the domain is offshore. Beats me how they can show an office in Florida.

Last edited by glc; 07-15-2009 at 06:20 PM.
glc is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 07-16-2009, 05:01 AM   #4
Ride 'em Cowboy
 
EzyStvy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 1999
Location: Dallas, Tx
Posts: 9,109
When it sounds too good to be true-> Run Forest Run
__________________
Stand Up 2 Cancer - SU2C
EzyStvy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-16-2009, 06:36 AM   #5
Member (10 bit)
Premium Member
 
Strider's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Location: Burb of Detroit, Mi
Posts: 874
Yea Right, Adobe Photoshop CS4 Extended is selling for $110, heck even the upgrade version you couldn't get it at that price.
__________________
Life is a Fig Newton of Your Imagination!
Strider is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-26-2009, 05:21 PM   #6
Member (3 bit)
 
Dominofx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Knoxville, TN 37914
Posts: 6
Thanks for the follow up on this, I will go for a more legit source. Like you when the address listed as Florida I assumed it was legit OEM items .. Jim
Dominofx is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Still Need Help? Type Your Keywords Here:


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:48 PM.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2012, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
SEO by vBSEO 3.6.0 PL2