Go Back   PCMech Forums > Help & Discussion > Software Discussion & Support

Need Some Help? Type Your Keywords Here:

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 04-06-2011, 10:08 AM   #1
Member (8 bit)
Premium Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 229
imgburn

Hi.. today's newsletter (#392) raves about "Imgburn" for burning DVDs, CDs, etc. All attempts to click the link and download it brings me to "Infra Recorder". May I assume that it's the same thing?

Thank you,
cuzzzzz
cuzzzzzz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-06-2011, 11:17 AM   #2
Member (11 bit)
 
rwest's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Columbus, OH
Posts: 1,388
No its not the same thing.

Seems like your being rerouted.

The Official ImgBurn Website

You may need Malwarebytes:

Malwarebytes Anti-Malware - Free software downloads and software reviews - CNET Download.com
__________________
Gigabyte 880GA-ud3h / 3.1 Phenom II x2 550 BE Callisto(4 cores and OC to 3.4) / Corsair Vengence 2x4gb DDR3 1600 / 640gb WD Black 2ea./HIS 6870/ 650 EarthWatts / Win 7 64bit
rwest is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-06-2011, 03:45 PM   #3
Member (8 bit)
Premium Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 229
rwest... thanks for your reply. I went to the site you mentioned, clicked on the download icon, and was immediately re-directed to gofree.com, where "Infra Recorder" is touted.
cuzzzzzz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-06-2011, 03:56 PM   #4
Computing Professor
Staff
Premium Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Posts: 11,718
Follow the instructions for the Malware bytes as rwest suggested.
__________________
Asus M4A77D, 64 X2 6000+, 4 GB Corsair DDR2 800 ram, Radeon 5770.
pam123 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-06-2011, 08:07 PM   #5
Member (9 bit)
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Kansas City, MO U.S.A.
Posts: 404
Quote:
Originally Posted by rwest View Post
No its not the same thing.

Seems like your being rerouted.

The Official ImgBurn Website

You may need Malwarebytes:

Malwarebytes Anti-Malware - Free software downloads and software reviews - CNET Download.com

The link worked just fine for me...

Try Malwarebytes, HijackThis, and a virus scan.
Preston is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-08-2011, 09:17 AM   #6
Member (8 bit)
Premium Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 229
Hi.. used Malwarebytes (quick scan) and still was sent to a different site. Ran the full scan, it found one new malware, and I did get to imgburn. Some links on the first site the PCMech article links to, however, still bring me to the other site that I was first sent to.

Thanks for all your help.. I like malwarebytes.

cuzzzzz
cuzzzzzz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-08-2011, 01:04 PM   #7
glc
Forum Administrator
Staff
Premium Member
 
glc's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2000
Location: Joplin MO
Posts: 37,779
Post a HijackThis log - something is redirecting you.
glc is online now   Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Still Need Help? Type Your Keywords Here:


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:03 PM.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2012, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
SEO by vBSEO 3.6.0 PL2