Go Back   PCMech Forums > Help & Discussion > Software Discussion & Support

Need Some Help? Type Your Keywords Here:

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 07-29-2002, 09:47 PM   #1
Member (6 bit)
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: St. Louis, MO
Posts: 41
***? Is this legal?

http://65.19.129.40/customer/home.php
Is this totally illegal and am I stupid for thinking about buying from this site?
Grimey742 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-29-2002, 10:21 PM   #2
Banned
 
morriswindgate's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2000
Location: Bakersfield,CA
Posts: 7,761
From their FAQ,

CD Media:
All products will arrive on high-grade CD-R Discs, either 74min or 80min.

If they are shipping full or upgrade copies then this is in fact illegal. This has also been the latest method of operating for warez sites since all the free virtual drive sites collasped.
morriswindgate is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-29-2002, 10:22 PM   #3
Professional Cow Tipper
 
juppy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Enid, OK, U.S.A.
Posts: 2,859
From what I've heard it's legal to make a backup copy of any program as long as you bought the original program. What this site seems to be doing is making the backup copy for you (I'm guessing for people that don't have CD-RW's or such and can't make their own copy). If you check the terms and conditions it states that you must own the original copy of the program you are buying. Now, if you were to buy a copy from them without owning the original, YOU would be breaking the law, not them, as they can most likely just fall back on the terms and conditions that you agreed to. Kinda touchy scenario they got going there.
__________________
Excellent guess, Kreskin! Wrong...but excellent.
*quote from Space Quest 6*
juppy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-29-2002, 11:39 PM   #4
Banned
 
morriswindgate's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2000
Location: Bakersfield,CA
Posts: 7,761
We will see as I have already forwarded the address to MS.
morriswindgate is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-29-2002, 11:59 PM   #5
Member (14 bit)
 
bailey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 1999
Location: Christmas, Florida
Posts: 10,661
from what I see there, the o/s that they are selling will not work,unless you have a leagal copy of it to begin with, as you need to have the cd code to even install it, plus it will stop working without the proper activating.
bailey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-30-2002, 03:26 AM   #6
Tuf
Member (12 bit)
 
Tuf's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 1999
Location: Oklahoma
Posts: 3,261
I'll bet they are not providing a CD Key. If they are I'll bet the will be replying to your order from the brig.
Tuf is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-30-2002, 04:24 AM   #7
Member (11 bit)
 
Rick Hall's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 1999
Location: Quebec, Canada
Posts: 1,239
If you look at the FAQ, it says that all products come with the serial code....

Products:
Every product featured on BackupBiz.com was purchased legally, not a downloaded warez version. All products come with working serials and needed information to use the product. Every product is an ISO. This means that it is the "original copy", like a copy you would buy from a shop, not a downloaded warez version.


Go figure
__________________
-------------------------------------------------------------------------
The solutions of today are the problems of tomorrow!
-------------------------------------------------------------------------
Intel Motherboard, Antec 300 case, Intel Q8200 CPU, Antec 650w Truepower trio, WD 640 Blue, WD 750 Black, WD 1T Black, Radeon 4650, 14 in 1 card reader, (2X) LG dvd Super Multi, Acer 223X monitor, Logitech pro 9000 webcam, Logitech MX5500 keyboard and mouse, Intel 2 gigabit Network, Canon IP6600D Printer, Epson V600 Perfection scanner, Linksys WRT54GL router, windows 7, Windows Vista, Windows XP
Rick Hall is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-30-2002, 08:39 AM   #8
glc
Forum Administrator
Staff
Premium Member
 
glc's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2000
Location: Joplin MO
Posts: 37,786
Lovely..........

The data contained in Go Daddy Software, Inc.'s WHOIS database,
while believed by the company to be reliable, is provided "as is"
with no guarantee or warranties regarding its accuracy. This
information is provided for the sole purpose of assisting you
in obtaining information about domain name registration records.
Any use of this data for any other purpose, including, but not
limited to, allowing or making possible dissemination or
collection of this data in part or in its entirety for any
purpose, such as the transmission of unsolicited advertising and
solicitations, is expressly forbidden without the prior written
permission of Go Daddy Software, Inc. By submitting an inquiry,
you agree to these terms of usage and limitations of warranty.

Registrant:
Backup Biz
BackupBiz.com
16 Carrot top lane
CCD-R Land, Not Applicable 6832
Russian Federation

Registrar: Go Daddy Software (http://registrar.godaddy.com)
Domain Name: BACKUPBIZ.COM
Created on: 03-Jul-02
Expires on: 03-Jul-03
Last Updated on: 03-Jul-02

Administrative Contact:
Biz, Backup sales@backupbiz.com
BackupBiz.com
16 Carrot top lane
CCD-R Land, Not Applicable 6832
Russian Federation
(76)6563426907 Fax --
Technical Contact:
Biz, Backup sales@backupbiz.com
BackupBiz.com
16 Carrot top lane
CCD-R Land, Not Applicable 6832
Russian Federation
(76)6563426907 Fax --

Domain servers in listed order:
PARK1.GODADDY.COM
PARK2.GODADDY.COM

I predict that this site will not last long. They know it too, they haven't bothered to put the IP into the DNS system. The host appears to be Hurricane Electric (he.net) if anyone cares.
glc is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 07-30-2002, 08:50 AM   #9
The Gavel
 
LawyerRon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 1999
Location: Upland, CA
Posts: 6,311
One very simple scam that a fellow wrote a book about (internet scams that is) was to simply set up a bogus website then collect credit card numbers.
__________________
"To speak ill of others is a dishonest way of praising ourselves"
LawyerRon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-30-2002, 01:41 PM   #10
Tuf
Member (12 bit)
 
Tuf's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 1999
Location: Oklahoma
Posts: 3,261
Very Interesting glc.......The scumbag list gets longer.
Tuf is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-01-2002, 06:42 PM   #11
Member (10 bit)
 
Join Date: Jul 1999
Location: Pickerington, OH-IO
Posts: 875
Quote:
Originally posted by glc

I predict that this site will not last long. They know it too, they haven't bothered to put the IP into the DNS system. The host appears to be Hurricane Electric (he.net) if anyone cares.
I think it's already been taken down because the link does not work.
Prew is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-02-2002, 08:17 AM   #12
The Gavel
 
LawyerRon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 1999
Location: Upland, CA
Posts: 6,311
It's working on my end.
LawyerRon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-02-2002, 08:34 AM   #13
Member (11 bit)
 
Mac Medic's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Posts: 1,729
Very Illegal and extremly brazen behaviour. The M$ attack dog will have fun with this one.
Mac Medic is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-02-2002, 08:48 AM   #14
Member (11 bit)
 
raftero's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: lometa,tx.
Posts: 1,399
i found a long time ago,through experience,if something is too good to be true you are wasting your money.there is probably some statement that is hard to find that covers their rear end.
raftero is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-02-2002, 10:51 AM   #15
Resident Slacker
 
homer15's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Suisun City, California (i know, where the hell is that?!?!?)
Posts: 2,620
hey grimey, that's a cool name...
__________________
Friends help you move. REAL friends help you move bodies. - me
quite possibly the best book ever written... by me
homer15 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-03-2002, 11:56 AM   #16
The Gavel
 
LawyerRon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 1999
Location: Upland, CA
Posts: 6,311
They might just take your money with no intention of sending you anything then close up shop when to heat gets too close for comfort.
LawyerRon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-10-2002, 03:04 AM   #17
digitally confused
Premium Member
 
TimPoet's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: Las Vegas
Posts: 2,301
Send a message via AIM to TimPoet
*LOL* 16 Carrot Top Ln, I love it.
__________________
.

Pentium D 805 | ASUS P5L-MX | CORSAIR ValueSelect 2 GHz |Primary HDD WD 40GB Back up HDD Seagate 7200.10 250GB SATA | eVGA 7600gt | Creative X-Fi Extreme Music audio card | Hauppauge TV Tuner Card | Lite On DVD burner/ LightScribe | COOLER MASTER Case | Fortron ATX400-PA 400W Power Supply | ViewSonic Q19wb LCD
TimPoet is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-17-2002, 02:03 PM   #18
Banned
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: in harms way
Posts: 2,768
As this is in Russia proper, there is little that will be done by M$. Especially if the Mafiya is involved. The notion of eulas, as such, is commonly held as absurd in that country, by Russians here as well, and, that those who abide by them are fools. I understand their rationale. Be that as it may. I obey to avoid any Imperial entanglements, with due respect to star wars...
Blakhart is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Still Need Help? Type Your Keywords Here:


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:58 PM.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2012, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
SEO by vBSEO 3.6.0 PL2