Go Back   PCMech Forums > Help & Discussion > Software Discussion & Support

Need Some Help? Type Your Keywords Here:

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 01-20-2004, 08:06 AM   #1
Member (8 bit)
 
gstope's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Posts: 148
OEM Software????

Does anyone know what this is about? Is it valid software?

http://www.mega-oem.info/index.html

I know that it looks to good to be true so... Does anyone have any experience with this type of offer?
gstope is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-20-2004, 08:35 AM   #2
Staff
Premium Member
 
mairving's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 1999
Location: Arlington, TN
Posts: 5,538
I would be very wary. The domain was only created last week and it's registered to a Nigerian. I would think that it is probably either pirated or bogus. The other company oem-cd.com has only been around for a few months also and is based in Venuli, wherever that is.
mairving is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-20-2004, 09:03 AM   #3
Member (13 bit)
 
Confused's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 1999
Location: Mt Washington, KY
Posts: 4,927
Cool

My experience in life has been that when something is too good to be true, I'm about to loose some money, time or both if I follow thru.
Chas
__________________
I may not be much, but I'm all I think about.
Confused is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-20-2004, 12:45 PM   #4
Folding For PCMech
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: San Dimas, CA
Posts: 3,136
LOL, I highly doubt these people are for real. XP Pro for $40; can you say PIRATED.
bigandy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-20-2004, 12:53 PM   #5
No, I don't sell tires...
Premium Member
 
tireman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Grapevine, TX
Posts: 330
Notice in their FAQ section:

"This software is recognized as a backup software."

And also states that you may need to contact them for updates or service packs.


Not too sure about all that.

tireman
__________________
Asus M2N-SLI Deluxe - AMD Athlon 64 X2 3800+ - EVGA 7600GT X 2 - 2 GB Corsair XMS PC6400 - Antec Neo HE500 - Coolermaster Ammo 533 - Vista Home Premium
tireman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-20-2004, 08:00 PM   #6
Member (10 bit)
 
Join Date: Jul 1999
Location: Pickerington, OH-IO
Posts: 875
Haven't Nigerian's been in the news lately for running scams? Don't think I'll be putting my VISA numbers on that web site.
Prew is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-20-2004, 08:05 PM   #7
Member (11 bit)
 
Mac Medic's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Posts: 1,729
Keep well away from that. You won't even see a CD, just huge CC charges.
__________________
Better to use a Mac and be THOUGHT a fool, than to use Windows and REMOVE ALL DOUBT
Mac Medic is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-20-2004, 10:16 PM   #8
Member (8 bit)
 
gstope's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Posts: 148
Thanks for the responses.

Just like I thought, Too good to be true. I'll stay away.
gstope is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-20-2004, 10:26 PM   #9
Staff
Premium Member
 
mairving's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 1999
Location: Arlington, TN
Posts: 5,538
Quote:
Originally posted by Prew
Haven't Nigerian's been in the news lately for running scams? Don't think I'll be putting my VISA numbers on that web site.
The number 3 source of revenue in Nigeria is a scam. It is the old one where some prince/king/idiot tells you that he needs your bank account to transfer in $10m or so and will give you a percentage. Once you give him your bank account, it gets transferred...over to him.
mairving is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-21-2004, 12:12 AM   #10
Folding For PCMech
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: San Dimas, CA
Posts: 3,136
Quote:
Originally posted by Prew
Haven't Nigerian's been in the news lately for running scams? Don't think I'll be putting my VISA numbers on that web site.
Yep. Check out this thread dealing with that issue.
bigandy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-21-2004, 04:04 AM   #11
Member (10 bit)
 
oddjob's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Vancouver Canada
Posts: 606
Quote:
Originally posted on OEM-CD
What do I get when I order something from you?

You get the CD(s) with the software in jewel case and labels. You also get the activation key, serial number or cd key necessary to activate the software so it work. Note, that you will not be able to register the software with the manufacturer and get their support, but we will do our best to support you any way possible. This includes providing different updates and service packs. However some updates will still be available from manufacturers, in fact most of them.
Now THAT is my favorite statement from their FAQ. That single phrase SO smacks of piracy that they don't need to answer any more FAQ's. LOL!
oddjob is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Still Need Help? Type Your Keywords Here:


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:32 PM.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2012, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
SEO by vBSEO 3.6.0 PL2