Go Back   PCMech Forums > Help & Discussion > Web Design / Development

Need Some Help? Type Your Keywords Here:

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 06-16-2006, 08:19 AM   #1
Member (9 bit)
Premium Member
 
lostplanet's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: England
Posts: 492
nominet email, scam or real?

*this may only concern UK members*

a while back i registered some domain names for a potential business idea, it didnt work out and i cancelled the domains/subscription, but i recieved a strange email recently concerning the doman names from nominet.

i'd like to know if this is a scam for interest really as i when i signed up for the domains thru a hosting company the cost was only £1.99 per 2 years and as far a i was aware it would only cost that as long as i kept up the subscription.

heres the contents of the email which does look kind of genuine to me:

RENEWAL NOTICE
05 Jun 2006



Dear Registrant,

*************

The domain name above is due for renewal on 04 Aug 2006.

Upon expiry we will send you an invoice by email and post for 80.00 GBP + VAT which must be paid within 30 days to retain the registration. If no payment is received the domain name will be suspended and subsequently cancelled.

If you no longer require this domain name you can surrender it now by confirming in writing to us that you wish us to cancel the domain name.
Alternatively you can ignore this reminder and the pro forma invoice that we will send you and the domain name will be cancelled automatically 90 days after its expiry. For further information on the domain name surrender process please see http://www.nominet.org.uk/go/surrender/.

If you wish to contact Nominet about the renewal of this domain name, please telephone Registrant Services on +44 (0) 1865 332211 or email us at renewals@nominet.org.uk.


Nominet UK
__________________
* quote: "I was born not knowing and have had only a little time to change that here and there." Richard Feynman *

"The World went and got itself in a big damn hurry" Brooks Hatlen

To keep clean and safe I use, Spybot 1.6.2, SpywareBlaster 4.4, AVG 10 Free edition, CCleaner Lite, Malwarebytes, Pandascan, kaspersky online scanner, Trendmicro housecall(when it works), spywareinfo.com forums, GRC.com shieldsUp
lostplanet is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-16-2006, 08:55 AM   #2
Staff
Premium Member
 
mairving's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 1999
Location: Arlington, TN
Posts: 5,538
Did you register the domain with them? There are quite a few scam artists in the domain business. There is one called Domain Registry of America. When your domain is getting close to renewal time, the send you what looks like an invoice. Once you sign it and pay their exhorbitant bill they transfer your domain. Someone unsuspecting might panic and renew their domain with them because their letter looks official and you don't want to lose your domain. What a bunch of crooks. There are plenty more out there like them.
__________________

Want to Make $$$$ with your Computer? No Risk! Simply press shift-4 four times in a row
mairving is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-16-2006, 09:26 AM   #3
Member (11 bit)
Premium Member
 
Staren's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Boston, MA
Posts: 1,616
Oh ya, when a domain is up for renewal anymore, you always get a pile of "renewal notices" trying to get you into transfering the domain to them. If you have not done buessness with them before, ignore it.
__________________
Laptop
HP DM4t / i5-560M / 14.1 WXGA Widescreen / 1GB Radeon Mobility 6370 / 4GB RAM / 320 GB 7200rpm HD / DVD-RW / 802.11n & BT wireless
First Build
Abit IC7-G Max II Motherboard / 2.8C 800mhz P4 / 1024 DDR 3200 (2x 512 in Duel Channel) / Saphire Radeon 9800 Pro 128 / Samsung 120 GB SATA HD / Lite-On 16x DVD-ROM / NEC DVD-RW
Staren is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-16-2006, 09:29 AM   #4
Member (9 bit)
Premium Member
 
lostplanet's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: England
Posts: 492
thanks mairving, i registered the domains with a hosting companty called 1and1.co.uk and as fair as i knew they were the only ones i had to pay for the domains.

i had a letter from domain registry of america but spotted it as scam right away.
the nominet(a genuine company that controls domains in the uk) one above does look real as the phone numbers and links do take me to the real nominet site.

i cannot see why i would have to pay £80 at all tho (and didnt anyway) when 1and1 quoted me £1.99 per 2 years for life.

Last edited by lostplanet; 06-16-2006 at 09:32 AM.
lostplanet is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-24-2006, 02:58 PM   #5
Member (4 bit)
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 8
Actually this is probably the drop catch period. Basically a drop catch period is the month or so after your domain has been "deleted". They give you a chance to get the domain back for an extremely high price or they will allow it to go to anyone within three months or so.
Atleast I think its like that
Aaroniza is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-11-2006, 01:43 PM   #6
Member (11 bit)
 
sdkfz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Shakopee MN
Posts: 1,293
Quote:
Originally Posted by mairving
There are quite a few scam artists in the domain business. There is one called Domain Registry of America. When your domain is getting close to renewal time, the send you what looks like an invoice. Once you sign it and pay their exhorbitant bill they transfer your domain. Someone unsuspecting might panic and renew their domain with them because their letter looks official and you don't want to lose your domain. What a bunch of crooks. There are plenty more out there like them.
I am so glad I read most posts, I just got one of these letters from them for my wife's domain and the name sounded vaguely familiar....now placing item in cross cut shredder......
__________________
Never Argue With An Idiot. They'll Drag You Down To Their Level And Then Beat You With Experience.
sdkfz is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Still Need Help? Type Your Keywords Here:


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:10 AM.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2012, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
SEO by vBSEO 3.6.0 PL2