Go Back   PCMech Forums > Windows Support > Windows OS Support (Vista/7/8)

Need Some Help? Type Your Keywords Here:

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 04-27-2010, 11:28 PM   #1
Member (4 bit)
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Posts: 9
Getting Windows 7 affordably

Windows 7 Professional retails for $300. Ouch. At that price I felt tempted to use a downloaded bootleg copy of the thing (tempted ONLY, not gonna actually do it). I found an OEM copy of Win 7 Pro on NewEgg for $140. That's more like it. I'm thinking of just snatching that one up. There's nothing wrong with using an OEM version of an OS, right? I don't care about getting a manual or packaging. As long as it's legit and I can install and use it, I'm fine.

I also found a site offering it for $69, and just $74 for the Ultimate. That sounds great, but it makes me a little suspicious that they're offering it for so much less than NewEgg. Here's the link:

http://pckeys.co.cc/categories.php?c...rosoft/Windows

I searched for the site at resellerratings.com, but found no info, good or bad. However, I have to be careful because I'm buying online with just a debit card. I don't have a credit card with protections. For this reason, I typically only buy online from outfits I really, really trust like Amazon.com, BH Photo/Video, and New Egg. I've heard I could sign up for PayPal and get protections. Maybe I should.

In any event, has anyone heard of pckeys.co.cc? Are they legit? And is an OEM edition of an operating system okay to use?
Tom ZeCat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-28-2010, 10:47 AM   #2
Barefoot on the Moon!
Staff
Premium Member
 
Force Flow's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Northeastern USA
Posts: 13,386
Looks like the domain is registered in Korea.

I'd definitely pass.


You probably should get a CC for just online purchases. It doesn't cost anything if you pay the full balance off every month.
__________________
There are two secrets to staying young, being happy, and achieving success. You have to laugh and find humor every day, and you have to have a dream.
Force Flow is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-28-2010, 10:54 AM   #3
Ride 'em Cowboy
 
EzyStvy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 1999
Location: Dallas, Tx
Posts: 9,109
When you can tell that English is their native language.

Quote:
Delivery

Software license key will be sent vis store message system along with download link for the software, as soon as your order has been verified (1-24 hours).
http://pckeys.co.cc/pages.php?pageid=2
EzyStvy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-30-2010, 08:56 AM   #4
Member (9 bit)
 
MikeMoss's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Ada, Michigan USA
Posts: 270
Hi

I back up Force Flow on the credit card for online issue.
I have a card with a low limit just for online purchases and have had bogus charges on it on one occasion.

The credit card company was actually the one who clued me in and it didn't cost me anything but it still makes me feel a lot better. As a worst case scenario I can't get stuck for more then the limit.

Interestingly I couldn't find anything about PC Keys Software Shop except their web site, with is suspicious for any company that has been in business more then a few months.
But I don't see anyway that this could be legitimate, Microsoft is never going to let anyone sell their software for pennies on the dollar.

It's like those places that say they will sell you a new Nikon camera for a few hundred dollars, it just isn't going to happen.
I checked all those places out when I bought my Nikon a few years ago, and there were so many scammers you wouldn't believe it.
Many were the same companies under various names, as is I believe PC Keys Software then seem to have a lot in common with some other discount software companies out of Asia that I ran into.

Mike

Last edited by MikeMoss; 04-30-2010 at 09:14 AM.
MikeMoss is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-30-2010, 10:35 AM   #5
Member (9 bit)
 
Iamjosh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: from here to enternity
Posts: 398
There is eBay.com
Iamjosh is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-30-2010, 12:19 PM   #6
Member (11 bit)
 
rwest's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Columbus, OH
Posts: 1,390
Is it possible the site's legit? Is it possible to buy multiple COAs in bulk? At a reduced rate? What about for business? A conmoany who needs alot of COAs for each client would do this. Can these COA's be resold? If the COA was never used?

Home Premium is $79, retail is $99, the prices are not that far off. You don't get a disk. You're only buying the right to use the OS. The site explains it in the fine print Stvy posted.

The 'all prices are final' part is kinda fishy though. It seems you only get a chance to download once, and if it don't work; it's on you. It's tempting..but I wouldn't do it. I'd rather spend the other $20 and get a disk with solid knowlege of authentencity.
__________________
Gigabyte 880GA-ud3h / 3.1 Phenom II x2 550 BE Callisto(4 cores and OC to 3.4) / Corsair Vengence 2x4gb DDR3 1600 / 640gb WD Black 2ea./HIS 6870/ 650 EarthWatts / Win 7 64bit
rwest is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-30-2010, 08:47 PM   #7
Barefoot on the Moon!
Staff
Premium Member
 
Force Flow's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Northeastern USA
Posts: 13,386
Quote:
Originally Posted by rwest View Post
Is it possible the site's legit?
Maybe, but there are too many red flags that I see.


Quote:
Is it possible to buy multiple COAs in bulk? At a reduced rate? What about for business? A conmoany who needs alot of COAs for each client would do this. Can these COA's be resold? If the COA was never used?
Yep, take a look at OEM builder packs.

Quote:
The 'all prices are final' part is kinda fishy though. It seems you only get a chance to download once, and if it don't work; it's on you. It's tempting..but I wouldn't do it. I'd rather spend the other $20 and get a disk with solid knowlege of authentencity.
That's standard for software since it can't really be returned like a physical item can (like a book or a TV)
Force Flow is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Still Need Help? Type Your Keywords Here:


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:20 PM.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2012, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
SEO by vBSEO 3.6.0 PL2