|
|||||||
![]() |
|
|
LinkBack | Thread Tools | Search this Thread | Rate Thread | Display Modes |
|
|
#1 | |
|
Member (1 bit)
Join Date: Sep 2000
Posts: 1
|
Greetings
You may have come accross this yourselves! I have ZoneAlarm installed and it does its job of blocking net access to my PC very well, however, how do I find out who it is that is trying to access my PC? how can i find out what the numerical IP address from the quote below means is it a company or just some hacker? Quote:
2.How does Pinging work within win98? Red_Lion |
|
|
|
|
|
|
#2 |
|
Forum Administrator
Staff
Premium Member
Join Date: May 2000
Location: Joplin MO
Posts: 37,760
|
I use a program called NetLab. What you want is under the DNS tag - it resolves an IP address to a name.
My IP address right now is 38.33.102.42. This resolves to ip42.chicago29.il.pub-ip.psi.net. This may be totally meaningless to you, but it does tell you that whatever it is, it's coming from psi.net. This happens to be the modem bank that I am dialed in to. My ISP uses psi.net, along with others, for its Net access. NetLab is freeware and can be found on the major shareware sites. Frequently Zone Alarm will resolve the IP address for you. |
|
|
|
|
|
#3 |
|
Member
Join Date: Mar 1999
Location: Ontario, Canada
Posts: 3,392
|
Quick search shows it's someone from Scotland ... there's got to be a better way.
http://www.arin.net/cgi-bin/whois.pl http://www.ripe.net/cgi-bin/whois
__________________
/\rchie |
|
|
|
|
|
#4 |
|
Forum Administrator
Staff
Premium Member
Join Date: May 2000
Location: Joplin MO
Posts: 37,760
|
Host name: ftp.iomart.com
IP address: 212.38.173.20 Alias(es): None The Data in Network Solutions' WHOIS database is provided by Network Solutions for information purposes, and to assist persons in obtaining information about or related to a domain name registration record. Network Solutions does not guarantee its accuracy. By submitting a WHOIS query, you agree that you will use this Data only for lawful purposes and that, under no circumstances will you use this Data to: (1) allow, enable, or otherwise support the transmission of mass unsolicited, commercial advertising or solicitations via e-mail (spam); or (2) enable high volume, automated, electronic processes that apply to Network Solutions (or its systems). Network Solutions reserves the right to modify these terms at any time. By submitting this query, you agree to abide by this policy. Registrant: angus macsween (IOMART4-DOM) 80 Berkeley St Glasgow, uk G61 2RJ UK Domain Name: IOMART.COM Administrative Contact: Iomart Hostmaster (IH450-ORG) dns@IOMART.CO.UK Iomart Ltd 80 Berkeley Street Glasgow, G3 7DS GB +44 141 221 0173 Fax- +44 141 221 6620 Technical Contact, Zone Contact: Moran, Paul (PM12742) paul@IOMART.COM Iomart Ltd 80 Berkeley Street Glasgow, G3 7DS GB +44 (0) 141 221 0173 (FAX) +44 (0) 141 221 6620 Billing Contact: Accounts Department (AD8454-ORG) accounts@IOMART.COM Iomart Ltd 80 Berkeley Street Glasgow, G3 7DS GB +44 (0)141 221 0173 Fax- +44 (0)141 221 6620 Record last updated on 16-Nov-1999. Record expires on 29-Oct-2000. Record created on 29-Oct-1998. Database last updated on 23-Sep-2000 19:47:30 EDT. Domain servers in listed order: NS.IOMART.CO.UK 212.38.173.11 NS2.IOMART.CO.UK 212.38.173.12 |
|
|
|
|
|
#5 |
|
Member (10 bit)
Premium Member
Join Date: Jul 1999
Location: Fairfax, Va
Posts: 998
|
Nice job glc. But you left out mr. Macsweens blood type. LOL
__________________
After 40, its a matter of maintenance |
|
|
|
|
|
#6 |
|
Forum Administrator
Staff
Premium Member
Join Date: May 2000
Location: Joplin MO
Posts: 37,760
|
Hehehehehe - dont blame me, blame Network Solutions!
|
|
|
|
|
|
#7 |
|
Member (6 bit)
Join Date: Jul 2000
Location: Canberra, Australia
Posts: 48
|
__________________
Frank R SMILE! you may not feel like it later. |
|
|
|
|
|
#8 |
|
Member (6 bit)
Join Date: Jul 2000
Location: Canberra, Australia
Posts: 48
|
I have been searching for the Netlabs program mentioned by glc but have had no luck. But did come across another useful item which seems to do the same as Netlabs. Try IPlookup at this site http://www.toolsforselling.com/ or http://www.moochers.com
It is very interesting to see who is roaming the net unannounced. |
|
|
|
|
|
#9 |
|
Forum Administrator
Staff
Premium Member
Join Date: May 2000
Location: Joplin MO
Posts: 37,760
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
#10 |
|
Member (6 bit)
Join Date: Jul 2000
Location: Canberra, Australia
Posts: 48
|
Thanks glc - downloaded and soon to be installed.
|
|
|
|
![]() |
| Bookmarks |
| Thread Tools | Search this Thread |
| Display Modes | Rate This Thread |
|
|